We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oh WOW!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
129 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 129 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Collette...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh WOW!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dunowen House is the most amazing place. The history, the architecture, the comfort, the grandeur, the grounds - loved every minute!

I went with 6 friends to celebrate my 60th birthday. Kela and Stephen (our hosts) provided a wonderful home-cooked meal on our first night which was delicious. Kela and Stephen are lovely, friendly and very helpful (offering advice on where to go and recommending restaurants etc). They live on the grounds of the House and are on hand when needed!

Basically - I can't wait to return which I'm sure I will do more than once!. It's a true jewel in Cork's crown and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so spacious and 5* comfort
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
We love the title of your review! What a great bunch, with more energy & a fun than many 25 year olds we'd know. We really enjoyed having you here and look forward to welcoming you again to celebrate any milestone you care to think about...birthdays, anniversaries, divorces, whatever!! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pumuckl
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can honestly say I have never had such a perfect holiday stay! The house was clean, beautiful, and welcoming. The grounds are lovely. Kela and Steve are very gracious hosts. I don't have any complaints and cannot find one improvement for them to make.
We all fell in love with the property and its surroundings, and cannot wait to return!
Thanks so much Kela and Steve!

Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely comments. Nice to be called gracious!! Looking forward to welcoming you all back in Summer 2017 for more Ardfield festival fun. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda C
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dunowen House was a wonderful vacation experience”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I traveled with a group for a yoga retreat, not knowing much about Dunowen House or what to expect. Kela and Stephen were very gracious hosts and took good care of us. The grounds are beautiful, as is the house (each bedroom has its own distinctive look). I believe Dunowen House is usually self-catering but arrangements were made prior to our arrival for them to provide the group with three meals per day -- menus were planned to accommodate various folks' dietary preferences/restrictions and each meal was divine (most of the food provided is locally sourced within a few miles). There's a fireplace in both the music room and sitting room for when the weather gets cool. There's also a cove and beach within walking distance, and Clonakilty is just a short drive away. I really enjoyed my time there and would recommend it to anyone interested in visiting Ireland's countryside.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Dear Belinda, many thanks for the lovely comments and delighted you enjoyed your first visit to this part of Ireland. We hope to see you again at some stage in the future. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan G
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“No Substitute for Class in Luxurious Splendor”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My partner and I were invited to a wedding party for a few days with the reception being held at Dunowen House. What a party! Both Kela & Stephen & family are very discerning hosts that offered exceptional hospitality in this rockstar house! We will never forget this truly memorable priceless experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't single out one thing!
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
What a joyous occasion and so happy that Dunowen House was the venue for such a great celebration (all 3 days of it)!! Thanks for the lovely comments and the appreciation of our food and service...we hope to see you again for the First Anniversary Celebrations. Stay Classy! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin S
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience for a Large Group”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I was tipped off to the Dunowen House by a local who knew that this would be the spot for me to lead a yoga retreat in beautiful West Cork. She was right. The Dunowen House fit our needs so well, and exceeded my expectations in every way!
Kela and Stephen were wonderful hosts, creating a space that is both exquisite and totally low key relaxing. The grounds are stunning, each bedroom large, beautiful and equipped with its own luxury bathroom. Kela and Kate's cooking was gourmet and created with care and attention to our group's needs. We were able to create a yoga studio in the music room - a beautiful transformation. Incredible!
The area is gorgeous countryside, with the adorable town of Clonakilty nearby. The cove just down the road from the House is an incredible oasis.
You are lucky if you find this spot for your vacation. We'll be offering the retreat again, hopefully next year!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Many thanks for the lovely feedback and chuffed that you as the yoga instructor / retreat organizer felt Dunowen House met your requirements so well. You definitely were a group that got straight into the unique "West Cork time zone" we have here! We loved the challenge of creating healthy, wholesome food that catered to the different dietary requirements of the group - with so much fabulous produce right on our doorstep it's a real pleasure to have guests as appreciative as yourselves. We look forward to working with you again on future retreats! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing