We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeeTeeMas...
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed in Dunowen for two nights as a family guest for a 40th birthday celebration. I understand this was not a cheap stay and, whilst the surroundings were pleasant, there were many shortcomings which would not have been acceptable in a hotel stay. The red rooms were cold with poor heating provided. We could not shower in the lovely bathroom as there was little hot water. The atmosphere in the place and the fantastic cuisine we enjoyed were all down to our hosts. Whilst the memorabilia of Noel Redding was interesting, the overall standard lets the place down. Wifi was also hit and miss throughout the house.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Cold rooms and water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
We are disappointed and sorry to find that Dunowen House didn't live up to your expectations and surprised that you didn't flag any issues you had with the house during your stay. We are always on hand to rectify things and indeed came straight in to the house to adjust the heating and make sure everything was working properly. Wi-fi can be patchy in some areas of the house as the 18th century walls are so thick. As it is a self-catering stay that was booked, we are not providing a "hotel" service but do believe we go above and beyond what is normally provided to guests booking any self-catering vacation - welcome packs including homemade scones & jam, logs & coal for the fires, access to every amenity provided in the house for guests entertainment. Many thanks for the feedback, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Declan K
1 review
“great place to stay.”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My self and my wife stayed for an evening and we enjoyed our stay here,
we were warmly received by Steve and Kela.
The house was warm and inviting.
The rooms were spotless.
We would highly recommend a stay here in the beautiful west Cork..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments. Hope to see you at Dunowen House again. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin T
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed at Dunowen last weekend with my Wife. We are well travelled but were absolutely blown away by this experience. From the moment we arrived we were made feel most welcome. I have NEVER felt more at ease, relaxed and at home away from home that at Dunowen. The house, its owners, the location , the food and the great Irish welcome , not to mention its musical history were the reason I have already reserved the entire house early spring. Trust me, , visit this place and you will be very impressed, unquestionable value for money and only sorry we had to return so soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms - each of them were stunning.
Liked least: having to leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback and comments. It was a delight to have you both here and we are so happy you found your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends here next February for a longer stay.
Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrskelly2...
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent House”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed at dunowen with a small group of friends from Dublin we were greeted by the extremely obliging Steven who carried our luggage to our rooms etc, enjoyed unhurried breakfast next day with delicious banana (to die for) the house is surrounded by striking scenery and we walked to the exquisite little beach nearby, we were also treated to coffee and homemade cakes before we departed .. All very pleasant indeed ...

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2014
Glad to be of service! Will send you on a copy of the banana bread recipe and hope to see you here again in 2015. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina K
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house, great hosts!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent unforgettable weekend in this house, it very clean, spacious and warm,rooms are even better than on the pictures, owners are friendly and helpful.
It was my 30's birthday and there was 16 of us, Kela cooked beautiful dinner and deserts for us and than we had party in the living room, there was plenty of space for all of us to party.
House has good sound systems, gorgeous bath tubs and extremely comfortable beds.
Private beach right around the corner and bigger beach about 5 mins drive,
We had great time and definitely planning to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2014
We enjoyed having you all here to celebrate your 30th and recent engagement. The fancy dress theme added some great glamour to the celebrations. We wish you all the very best in your future together and hope to see you at Dunowen some day soon.
Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing