We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Weekend, Grand Welcome, Grand Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Weekend, Grand Welcome, Grand Service”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Myself and a group of friends stayed in the Grand Hotel this weekend for 2 nights. We had an early flight from Bristol and arrived at the hotel at 10:30am but were still able to check-in. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself is set in a beautiful location with stunning sea views. Rooms were very spacious, very clean and comfortable.Food was excellent and bar prices were cheaper than the local pubs in Malahide. We were so impressed we are already planning next years trip back to the Grand.
Thanks to everyone.
Julian

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    544
    237
    99
    57
See reviews for
308
531
34
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arrived on the Friday 10th Feb for a weekend away without kids to celebrate my birthday - when booking over the internet I had placed a special request for an upgrade as it was my birthday and on check in this was honoured - I was delighted as this was my first visit to the hotel. We had room number 201 great views and was well equipped with lovely big bathroom. On the 1st night we went to the Sandbank restaurant which was quite close to the hotel and would thoroughly recommend. The swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc were all very clean and well supervised. The Restaurant for Breakfast and dinner were also excellent. Can't wait to go back - maybe take the kids the next time!!

Room Tip: I asked for an upgrade on my special request form as it was my birthday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingalongNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed in the Grand Hotel for 2 individual nights, a Thursday and a Saturday. Had booked a standard double room but on check in on the Thursday, the hotel kindly upgraded us to an Executive room which was excellent. Views of the sea were fantastic and the room was in a nice quiet location with tea/coffee facilities included. We had a good breakfast also looking out over the sea which is buffet style. It is a very family firendly hotel and there were plenty of children staying over the weekend. Friends used the swimming pool and they said it was clean and well maintained. On the Saturday when we checked in as the hotel was full, we were put into a standard double room except it was not a double room, it was definitely a single room with a small double bed, it was in the old part of the hotel and I definitely would never stay in the room again. It was only suitable for 1 person as you could not walk around the bed if the other person was in the room! Pokey and claustaphobic would be words I would use to describe it, the view was excellent but unfortunately it did not help us in our disappointment at being put in such a "box room". When I complained on check out I was told that is was a double room but I have been travelling for over 30 years and I have never had a room as small as it (even when I have been in a single!) Avoid Room 317 if you can. Staff are all very friendly and courteous and would definitely stay again but never in the old part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid old part of hotel ask for a room with a nice view in new part or better still go for the Execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was my third visit to this hotel and they did not disappoint. We paid a standard double room rate for B & B and they kindly upgraded us to an Executive Room (302) which was large and had a fantastic view of the sea. Nice robes and bathroom extras, and tea/coffee making facilities were welcomed. Breakfast is a buffet style with the restaurant looking over the bay. Staff were friendly and attentive and no hesitation in recommending the hotel, however if you get a room in the old part of the hotel, experience is different as the rooms are very small and cramped and this area can be cold so be sure to ask for the new rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the new part of the hotel, much bigger rooms and warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down N.Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is my fifth time staying at this hotel and it was as pleasant as experience as every other time. Could not find fault with anything here, the room, the service, staff, location & food are all great. My 8 year old daughter and myself went for one night on this occasion, however, i have been herre with a large family group and just as a couple so all catered for. The bar food is tasty and children are made feel welcome. The reception rooms are numerous so this hotel never feels like its crowded although the carpark would tell you differently. The leisure facilities are excellent and if weather is fair, Malahide castle is a great place to take the children, one of the best playparks ive seen. Malahide itself is a lovely little town and the hotel is within close walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to couples and families alike.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoifeCoDownN_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
2.8 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
2.3 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
352 reviews
10.3 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
81 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
6.4 km away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price range (per night): $173 - $344
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing