We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay on St Pat's Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Malahide B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay on St Pat's Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here over St Patrick's weekend as most places in dublin were booked out. Located in a quiet, rich suburban town of malahide 20 min away from dublin by train. Had a cosy stay here, with great hospitality shown by Gerry and Etienne. The place was well furnished with a warm cottage feel and Irish breakfast served each morning. Bathrooms were ensuite as well. Very reasonably priced at 30pounds a night. The only drawback was that shampoo and soap were not provided. Otherwise a perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    45
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
98
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Lovely People,very friendly & helpful,delicious healthy cooked breakfast
must return in the summer to enjoy the BBQ's

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nobber
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed just for the Saturady night. Was very impresssed with the service and the reasonable price of €35 each. Could have done without a picture of Bertie Ahern looking down on me when I was eating my breakfast. He has left this country in a mess and people still think he was good for the country. Only good for himself and his cronies.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

i do not normally dont write reviews but i had such a bad experience the first night i stayed there the en suite in my room the toilet did not stop running all night which i lost alot of sleep over and then in the morning i said it to eithne and she did not even offer to discount somthing of the bill which i found very bad she moved me into another room its was ok. then for breakfast i had porridge which was could of been better ill just say that its hard to make porridge that bad and then to hear eithne coughing the whole time whilst making my breakfast wasnt very pleasant or hygienic. i didnt have breakfast the following morning! then when i went to check i asked for the bill which was 85e for the two nights i gave her 90e she didnt have the change so she went to ask gerry for 5e then came in and started shouting at me about leaving it to late to check out and they wanted to chage me for an extra night then he siad he would call the garda if i didnt give him 20 e for checking out late so i just gave him the 20 he was very hostile towards me he seems to be a very aggressive man. overall it was a very bad experience.. i know there is alot of good reviews but i didnt have such a good time

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous2012-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Just had to leave a few words about my stay with Gerry and Eithne especailly after reading John F s comments. I have been staying in Malahide at least twice a year now for approx ten years and have tried quite a number of bed and breakfast accommodations. I can honestly say that Castle Lodge is well and truly the best, I have never had my drinking water bottles with seals broken, never have I not had hot showers and never have I not had anything but the best welcome, best breakfasts and best craic during my stay. You can be rest assured Gerry and Eithne will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable, they go out of thier way to suggest great eating and drinking establishments around Malahide although it would probably be hard to advise of any bad ones as Malahide is a lovely village with just about everything you could wish for. On a final note since my first stay I have recommended at least eight friends who all have returned to Castle Lodge and are of the same opinion as myself that Castle Lodge and its owners are first class hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
2.5 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
1.3 km away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.3 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Back Road, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malahide
Price range (per night): $126 - $130
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Lodge B & B, located fifteen minutes from Dublin Airport, renowned for high standard in accommodation and delicious wholesome food, Castle Lodge B & B offers great value for money, for an overnight stay, a weekend break or longer vacation. Owned and run by the Rafferty family, who have vast knowledge of Malahide and surrounding areas. Rooms and suites cater for all guests with single, double and family suites & wheelchair accessible toilet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing