We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.star hotel with 5 star service nice location needs upgrade ,,reasonable”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have enjoyed our stay found freindly people .Great staff good food .Good location to travel from.Still needs upgrade. But very Reasonable!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea Front Rooms AreLarger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 280 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

excellent well decorated rooms, deep bath , pleasant and helpful staff , convenient to superb beach and two golf courses, and airport c 3km to dart and rail to city centre

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just back from a great Saturday night stay at White Sands Hotel in Portmarnock. Our party of four stayed in two lovely rooms, warm and cozy with all the amenities you would need. We enjoyed a tasty but inexpensive meal in the Oasis bar attached to the hotel along with a few drinks and ended the night in Tumangos nightclub. All hotel staff were polite and helpful and the front of the hotel has a fantastic view of Portmarnock strand. A nice relaxing walk up the beach in the morning worked wonders on the morning after hangover. Overall a great stay, we will definitely return to the White Sands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked a room for a weekend getaway, but it turned out to be a failure because of the bad conditions in the hotel. The receptionists are not very nice ladies. the heat in the room was unbelivable, the heaters were constantly on, we opened the small window but we still felt lile in a sauna all night. We didn t sleep all night because of the party going on in the next 3 or 4 rooms, full of noisy ladies in thier 50's, laughing, shouting, etc. there is no noise insolation, everything going on in the other rooms is very clear, there are noises coming from upstairs, toilets and everywhere around the room. We wanted to leave the hotel in the middle of the night it was that bad. there s a night club beside the hotel and many of them spend the night in the hotel, continuing the party in the rooms. the breakfast was a joke, people were unhappy this morning about the food, very greasy and untasty, overcooked or undercooked. very poor cleanliness. i wouldn t recommend the hotel to anyone, except for a one night stand, that s why the hotel is beside the club anyway....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamuta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel on New Year’s Eve just gone. On the way to our room there was a tray in the corridor, and by the look of food, it appeared that it had been there for quite some time. I was a bit concerned by the thumping loud music coming from the room next door to ours, but was hopefully it would die down… more about that later. The room was basic and could do with some updating, especially the shower curtain which I practically had a fight with just to have a shower! But I thought, it’s only for one night, it will be fine. We went to the bar where we enjoyed the band that was playing. We returned to the room a few hours later and were woken up by the earlier mentioned loud music at around 3.30am! Two calls down to the night porter and it was finally turned down. We were woken quite early the next morning with banging doors from other rooms, needless to say we didn’t feel like we had a nights sleep at all!! On checking out the next day we passed the ever decaying tray of food… yes it was STILL there at midday. I mentioned to the receptionist the about the loud music, banging doors, disrupted sleep, tray in corridor etc., and followed this up with an email to the hotel which went unanswered. I emailed for a second time to which the manager called me and offered me a complimentary upgrade the next time I stayed there. She said she would post information to me… which I’m still waiting for, despite yet another email to her. Something tells me customer service and their views may not be a priority for this hotel. I don’t think I’ll be parting with my hard earned cash anytime soon to see if things have improved… upgrade or no upgrade… (if I ever receive it in the post…. Which I doubt!) I feel it may not be worth taking the chance!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinead967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.7 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,629 reviews
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Waterside House Hotel
5.2 km away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
577 reviews
2.0 km away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: $91 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing