We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a downward spiral”
Review of Twin Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twin Trees Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
GreenLeadersGold level
Spiddal, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“On a downward spiral”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We went to a wedding in this hotel and stayed overnight. This was formerly a renowned hotel and is has a good history although it was mentioned to me that it didn't have previous standards recently.

First of all I must mention that the staff were kind, friendly and helpful, but unfortunately that is where the complements end.

The food at both the wedding and breakfast was appalling. Even the coffee was weak and tasteless. We had a cappucino the following day as well and both of us did not go beyond the first sip. We were not alone in our comments on the food at the wedding, it was like stuff you would get from a packet.

The decor is outdated and becoming run down and unfortunately it is a hotel that is struggling with the tough economic situation. It has potential, but looks as if it requires major investment to bring it to bring it anyway close to former glories.

Room Tip: Food is terrible, have a lie in instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donncha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck99, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear DOCong,

I would like to thank you for writing a review on the hotel, our philosophy is great service provided by our loyal staff and quality at affordable prices. I am delighted that you availed of one of our special offers of Bed & Breakfast for €66.68 per night for two persons on a Saturday night and as I would like to point out our breakfast offering is displayed in accordance with the rate we are receiving at this turbulent time in the hospitality industry in Ireland.

What I am really astounded with is your comments about the Wedding meal - as the feedback from all the guests I spoke with on the evening and the following morning were nothing but positive and appreciative. Our food policy for in excess of 75 years is locally sourced and home produced. What really saddened me is as a family member we take pride in our hotel and service and it is pity that one of us did not get to speak with you before you left hotel, as both my sister Karen and brother Michael would have been happy to speak to you.

I would like to invite you back the Downhill House hotel in the not too distant future, if you contact me personally I would be delighted to look after you. my email is rachael@downhillhotel.ie

Kind regards
Rachael Moylett
Marketing Director/Family Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    164
    55
    38
    33
See reviews for
171
190
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamullen, Meath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My Dad gave myself and my husband a 2 night stay in the Downhill House for Christmas so we booked and headed down on the 1st March with our 3 year old daughter. On check-in we noticed the bar/lounge was closed (lights off, no staff present) which, at 4pm, to me was strange and when I asked the receptionist if it was closed she said no and that she would “get someone if I wanted"! Dinner on one evening was included in our stay so we decided to avail of it on the first night, on booking we were told the main restaurant was closed and that a smaller room was set up for dinner or we could have bar food which we were assured was very nice and with a small child with us we thought it might be the better option - we were wrong! When we arrived to the bar for dinner (which thankfully was now open) we were the only people there at first (except the nice gentleman behind the bar) and it was freezing (my husband actually ate his meal with his coat on)! We looked at the very limited menu and decided what to order, I ordered a curry and my husband ordered a sirloin steak - which he was told he couldn't have, we weren't clear if that was because it wasn't included in the meal or just not available. My daughter’s pasta Bolognese arrived which was most definitely a reheat as was my curry (dry claggy pasta and dry rice with watery curry sauce). It all tasted ok but, as I told the manager the next day, it was only mediocre and I could make much nicer myself at home – and I’m no chef! So having finished our meal we couldn’t sit in the cold any longer so finished our drinks and went up to our room, having decided that we would be checking out the next day. The room itself was ok (a bit musty and dull) and considering the bar was so cold we couldn’t believe that the room was the complete opposite – unbearably warm, even though I had turned the radiator off. None of us slept very well that night because of the heat. Also (which unfortunately I didn’t notice until the next morning) there were stains on the bedspreads particularly on the bed that our daughter slept in there was a stain resembling either dried blood or chocolate. The next morning we went for breakfast in a room that was haphazardly set up as a breakfast room with limited options for breakfast but thankfully there was the offer of a cooked breakfast which was, again, just ok. When the time came to check out we spoke to the manager who said very little as we spoke except to inform me that the heating was off so she didn’t know how our room could have been so warm – to which I offered that perhaps our room was over a boiler or something. My Dad himself also rang to speak to the Manager as it was his hard earned money that paid for this excuse for a hotel – she told him that she would reimburse him for our stay but would have to charge for the meal – which is a joke in itself as that was certainly no enjoyable meal but we’re glad at least that they are going to partly reimburse him. The only positive thing I can say about our experience is that the 3 or 4 staff members we encountered during our stay were all very pleasant but I don’t necessarily consider that a positive reflection on the hotel itself they are just fortunate to have nice people working for them.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck99, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I place great importance on guest feedback so your comments are greatly appreciated. My sincere apologies for the lack of enjoyment and experienced you had with your recent stay with us, this is clearly not to our standard. As you are aware the hotel industry is going through a very difficult time, with an over capacity of hotels and an under capacity of Tourists it proves a very hard task to get adequate room occupancy and rates from guests. Thursday night would be a general quite night overall in Ballina and I am sorry that your break was cut short as I am sure you would have enjoyed the complimentary music in the Bar on Friday night and a full hotel.

With regards the heat this is been addressed and thank you for pointing this out to us with your bedroom been too warm.

Thank you again for bringing these points to my attention, the only way that the hotel and team can improve is by feedback, which I appreciate. Thank you also for your comments about our excellent staff of which I will pass on those in question.

Kind regards
Rachael Moylett
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Over the past 4 years I've been staying at this hotel for typically 2 weeks a month on busineess trips. The hotel is very comfortable, good food, is very friendly, has a great gym & pool. I'm always made to feel very welcome & made comfortable at this friendly hotel. My wife joined me for 1 trip, had a great time & really enjoyed Ballina. There is so much to do in this very pretty part of Ireland & it has a beautiful coastline & beaches. It's a little sad that I won't be visiting this lovely place much in the future - its a bit special & great for weddings. Johnson from London.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building are best - good seperate showers plus bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck99, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Richard J,

I would like to thank you so much for your kind words about staff here and that you have always found them a pleasure to deal with. I will certainly pass on your feedback. We will certainly strive to keep up the good work here, looking forward to welcoming you back again soon, and best of luck for the future, we will miss you around the hotel during the week, it was also a pleasure to look after you, keep in touch,

Kind regards
Rachael Moylett
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Downhill house hotel is a well maintained, clean hotel that is situated within walking distance of Ballina. The room was very spacious and looked newly renovated but like most large hotels had lost some of its character. The room had tea/ coffee making facilities and plenty of storage space but for some reason was very cold, couldnt find how to turn the heating on and it was very late when returning to the room so just went to sleep. Breakfast was good (if not a little small) and the restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant itself was in a nice part of the hotel and provided lovely scenery while eating

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samjay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck99, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Samjay,

Thank you for staying with us at the Downhill House hotel. It is always a pleasure to get back feedback from our guests stays. As a third generation of family in the Downhill House hotel, I am glad that your accommodation was bright, airy, and spacious and had everything you needed and that you found the team very efficient and friendly, We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Kind regards
Rachael Moylett
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently and we were surprised by how cold it was.When you walk into a hotel you expect a bit of warmth inside the door, it was exactly the same as outside. We had some bar food on the first night, and there were 2 other couples in the bar eating and we all wore our coats/jackets! Very unwelcoming.Heat is a basic requirement in any hotel in winter.This does not seem to have dawned on them at the Down House Hotel. Breakfast was very poor quality, and I think they count everything,one black pudding,one white pudding etc. Having said all that the hotel was almost empty,and I suppose they were trying to save on heating costs. I was reluctant to have a shower because it was so cold. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. I returned to Ballina 3 days later and stayed at hotel along the Moy, what a difference.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck99, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We were very sorry to read that you experience a cold room during your recent stay with us. I can assure you that this is not the norm and I do apologize that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly & helpful. We hope on returning to The Downhill House Hotel that we can rectify these glitches.

Kind regards,
Rachael Moylett,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
3.9 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.3 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
459 reviews
1.1 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,016 reviews
0.3 km away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
167 reviews
1.9 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Property: Twin Trees Hotel
Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price range (per night): $141 - $278
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing