We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Falcon Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I took my mother as a treat for mothers day and went for the special offer of one night stay with 5 course meal.

The hotel is very well presented with a beautiful turf fire upon arrival - a must in Mayo!

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The bed is huuuge! Rooms are gorgeous, decor is lovely throughout.

The food was nice - although quite pricey for qhat you get - dont be fooled by the 5 courses - one of the courses is one small chocolate which you get with your coffee.

Overall a lovely relaxing stay, great location, very easy to find. Wuld go back and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24minilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    158
    54
    32
    14
See reviews for
268
453
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We arrived on Tuesday 13 March 2012 to stay for three nights in the hotel. We had only just got married on saturday 10th and this was where we chose to have our mini-moon.
On arrival we were in awe of how the property looked, it just looked so perfect - and that set the tone of our stay.
We were warmly welcomed, and given a lovely room to stay in - one of the deluxe rooms - The Ledgers. We would've loved to have seen the suites but unfortunately they were both being redecorated, nevertheless with the Ledgers we weren't disappointed. The room was in the older part of the property, was beautifully furnished with views over part of the estate, the ensuite had his'n'her sinks, a stand-alone roll-top bath and a very generous sized shower.
On each evening we ate in the hotel, twice in the restaurant and once in the bar/bistro - the food was fabulous, and breakfast was equally as good with a super cooked selection - my favourite was the Eggs Benedictine Style! Even the locally sourced yogurts were beautiful. The attention to detail was brilliant, and service super - when we ordered coffee the first morning for breakfast - the lady knew exactly how we wanted it the following two mornings. I just can not rate this hotel high enough!
We visited the leisure facilities complete with sauna and steam room, each time they appeared quiet which was exactly how we wanted it, we also visited the spa and enjoyed some treatments.
Overall, staff were extremely helpful and very knowledgable of the local area and were able to suggest places to go and things to do.
It was very sad having to pack our bags to leave, I was really annoyed at the time because in sorting out our bags I chipped one of my nails which I had only got done at the spa the day before. When we checked out I asked could I possibly go down and reapply some polish - this was no problem and the receiptionist phoned down and arranged for one of the beauticians to see me - she didn't just paint over my nail to take the bad look of it - but actually redid it completely. They didn't have to do that - we were after all checking out to leave.

This is a super place to stay - we will definitely be back.
Thank you so much for such an enjoyable stay and looking after us so well.

Room Tip: For character and a good sized shower - try one of the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borders_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just back from a one night stay,hubby and 3 kids, it was 'nt long enough, the atmosphere is relaxed elegance from the minute you walk in the door. Our adjoining room was perfect, spacious and beautifully decorated. They were accomodating about check out so we had plenty of time to enjoy the leisure facilities. All I want to know is how soon I can justify a return trip????

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Had a birthday girlie week-end at Mount falcon's Woodland lodge and Lakeside Cottages where we enjoyed the spectacular woodlands,tower, spa, hotel and the best food and customer service ever. Sixteen girls all had the most wonderful week-end and the Management and staff made this possible. Henrietta on Reception was so kind and helpful and could'nt do enough for us. Deirdre at the spa went out of her way to make the girls feel relaxed while they enjoyed their fab treatments. I had the pleasure of meeting the famous Philippe (Award winning Chef) who did himself proud on both nights. Dave the bar manager went out of his way to help. Good staff are like gold dust and Shane Maloney cares for his staff the same way he cares for Mount Falcon and its visitors. This was the best location, customer service, cleanliness,food, service and value that I have experienced and the girls (all sixteen) agree and will return. Well done Mount Falcon 110% in all areas.

Room Tip: For large groups book the Woodlands or Lakeside Lodges. Ladies use the Spa its so 'worth it'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LornaLoyalCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon in the Mount Falcon Estate hotel. It provided a spectacular old country house feel, we walked in to the smell of wood burning fires, high ceilings and a warm reception. We were shown up the front staircase, which is lined with characterful paintings of various wildlife, country pursuits and scenery and were shown to our room, 'The Dugout', which had dark original wooden floors, a fire place and lovely marble bathroom.

The breakfast room is a lovely, light, old kitchen dining room. It is a real 'Downton Abbey' experience. We loved that the food selection was largely from the surrounding area, everything on the chef's menu was cooked to order and the French chef added a verve to dishes like eggs benedict.

The staff were friendly and accommodating at every step. The varied lounge and sitting rooms allow you a variety of relaxing locations that you can pretend are your own.

The swimming pool is partially set into the woods making it feel like an outdoor swim without the chill.

In February/March we were delighted to have good strong old fashioned radiators for heating which made the whole thing cosy and comfortable.

It is close to the Foxford Woolen Mills which has a stylish cafe with local made chutneys and an expanse of local made and internationally sourced items for your home. Bring a credit card!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
8.2 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
7.6 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
3.2 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
6.5 km away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
39.0 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Property: Mount Falcon Estate
Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price range (per night): $219 - $412
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing