We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the perfect escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite) Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite)
Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Bedroom 2 Twin room (double & single bed)
Upstairs livingroom, stunning views of the Mullet peninsula.
Kitchen - Dining area
Family bathroom.
Belmullet CGS (North facing)
Our 2 Luxury Pods.
Boat trips can be arranged by request.
Luxury Pods also availablle
A panoramic view from Claggan Island.
Panoramic view from Belmullet Cgs.
Aerial View of Claggan Island. July 2013
Aerial view with Claggan Island in the background, July 2013
Sunset over Belmuller CGS
Claggan Island Sunset
Claggan Beach with Belmullet CGS in the background.
Claggan Beach (Achill Island in background)
Stunning views of Achill to the south.
Carramore lake. A 15 minute drive away.
The wild Atlantic ocean at its best.
Ballyglass Lighthouse. 20 minute drive from Claggan Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lydiadon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the perfect escape”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place is amazing. we stayed in the pods, looking out to the water, a beautiful view to wake up to. the pods are brilliant, so warm and comfortable,beats a hotel room any day of the week! the facilities on site are great, bathroom in the pod and then a kitchen and ladies and gents showers bedside in a separate building. this part of mayo is a must to visit. We drove out to eagle Island and down to blacksod lighthouse. lovely drive with spectacular views along the coast. I'll definitely be back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead L
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we loved it”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed at the coastguard station over Christmas and we had a wonderful time. The house had been decorated for Christmas and it all looked great. Laurence and his father were both genuinely nice people and the house itself was really lovely- the nicest holiday rental we've ever been to. The fresh carrots (which we had with Christmas dinner!) and duck and hen eggs were very much appreciated. There is a lovely beach within 10 mins walk of the house, which we enjoyed, even in the winter. The free use of the swimming pool at the local Broadhaven bay hotel was a real asset with two kids and a couple of rainy days during our stay. We could also recommend the Gateway leisure centre, a short drive from the house- we went bowling there one day, it also has a nice bar/restaurant and a supervised play area that our six year old enjoyed for an hour.
We're all looking forward to returning to the coastguard station one day..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas on Claggan island. best wishes for 2015 and hope to see you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthonymi...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect retreat”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

set in a stunning location the lighthouse was absolutely perfect for our break.
Laurence and the family couldn't do enough for us.
the house is as good as any I've stayed in in Ireland and has three big bedrooms, 2 ensuite with extremely comfortable beds.
the views must be seen to be believed and the pictures really don't do it justice.
will definately be returning to this property

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, we really appreciate it and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Can't wait to welcome you back to Claggan island again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakita M
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed in this amazing house with its panoramic views of the ocean and everything you could need for a relaxing stay. The owners made us feel very welcome dropping in fresh eggs and vegetables from the farm on the site - very nice touch! Great walks on the beach a minute walk away! Highly recommend a visit here is you're looking to find Irish hospitality at its finest in an incredible house and location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are really grateful for the positive review. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliesRo...
Goeppingen
1 review
“Peaceful holidays”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you are looking for a place where you can get a lot of recreation - here it is! Claggan Island is a haven of tranquility if there is no stormy weather. And if it is, you have a nice place at the stove for relaxing reading knitting or whatever you want. In the evening I liked to stand on the little balcony and enjoy the panorama.
The house is very well equipped and lovely decorated. The hosts Laurence and Myra are very friendly and helpful if you would need it. And the ducks and hens will awake you in the morning so that the walk to the beach may start.
We will come back to Claggan Island! It is one of our favourite holiday locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing