We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lantern Townhouse
Ranked #23 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming Hostess”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Our hostess, Katherine met us warmly. Our room was spacious and overlooked the street.
We were well located to all the colorful pubs and restaurants. Katherine was helpful with her dining suggestions. Had a wonderful time in Dingle. Don't miss this charming town!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zixca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    79
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
130
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night last month, and loved The Lantern so much that we will be back again. The whole experience was so positive from check in, to the rooms, to breakfast and check out. The bedroom was so comfortable (as was the bed), really well decorated and with a great shower. I loved the fact that they have quilts on the bed rather than blankets and sheets. You usually only find that in good hotels.

The place was spotlessly clean. Katharine was so friendly and helpful. She gave us great recommendations for what to do and where to go. The breakfast was really delicious - smoked salmon scrambled eggs and waffles topped it all off! I would highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnham09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Harrison, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Lantern Townhouse is right in the heart of Dingle. We booked a twin room and were given a room overlooking Main Street with a double bed and a twin bed. The room was good-sized and nicely appointed. The bathroom also appeared recently renovated and the water pressure in the shower was great although there was evidence of a moisture issue in the corner.

Katharine, the proprietor, gave us great info on the sights to see along Slea Head Drive. Breakfast was delicious and included three hot options and French press coffee as well as traditional cold options such as cereal, yogurt and fruit. There was an issue with the availability of hot water the morning that we left, and as a result we received a discount upon check out which was a pleasant surprise.

The location is ideal if you don't want to drive once you're in town. We were a quick walk away from the highly recommended An Canteen for dinner and O'Sullivan's Court House Pub for trad music. Dingle has a lot of great shops for local crafts, so take some time to walk around and check them out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcamny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here on one of the busiest weekends this summer, and loved it. Very clean, and comfortable. Thanks very much, we'll book soon for our autumn break!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Definately stay again. Lovely clean, spacious and stylish rooms with irish home charm. Great fresh breakfast with great continental selection and simple hot selections made fresh as ordered. Walking distance to all of Dingle.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisMPAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
0.4 km away
Murphy's B & B
Murphy's B & B
#14 of 75 in Dingle
298 reviews
0.3 km away
O'Neills Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bambury's Guesthouse
Bambury's Guesthouse
#11 of 75 in Dingle
279 reviews
0.4 km away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
348 reviews
0.4 km away
Devane's B&B
Devane's B&B
#22 of 75 in Dingle
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantern Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantern Townhouse

Property: The Lantern Townhouse
Address: The Lantern Townhouse Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price range (per night): $124 - $198
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Townhouse Dingle is a warm, friendly and welcoming bed and breakfast in the heart of Dingle town. Our priority is to make you feel welcome and comfortable in a clean and cosy environment. We also provide a daily bed "make up" service. All rooms are en suite and tastefully decorated. We are happy to provide you with our local knowledge about Dingle and its environs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lantern Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lantern Townhouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing