We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, friendly reception, the coziest linens in Ireland”
Review of The Hideout Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideout Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Absolutely wonderful stay. Chuck was our warden and he was warm and friendly. Our room was clean, with mismatched linens making it feel homey. The sheets had the amazing wonderful softness that comes from being washed so many times. It felt like we stayed in Grandma's guest room! Chuck filled us in on GREAT tips for dinner, and gave us ideas on where to hit for the most entertaining music. We loved our stay and will be sure to return when we are back in Dingle!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grizwald_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

Hideout Hostel in Dingle was in a very central location. It was clean and safe. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon8876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was the best hostel we stayed at while in Ireland. It was within walking distance to a lot of pubs and in a safe area. The guy working for the proprieter knew where to go for different kinds of music, and told us that they sometimes turn people away who look like they are up to no-good, so it just reinforced the safety of the hostel all the more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deliriou599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

More like a B&B than a hostel. Very cute homely lounge area, and nice homestyle kitchen. The owner and his mum were very friendly and accomodating. My partner and I were deciding between a double or 4 share room, but were told that if we booked a 4 share we'd have the room to ourselves anyway. It was definately a welcome change from the usual loud, cold and dirty hostels. My only complaint was that the hot water ran out at the end of the night!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgetteBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The Hideout offers comfortable accommodation & friendy service at a good price. Only problem was with hot water for shower on my last morning. Dingle is a small town and the Hideout is pretty much central to everything. My room, as well as the common areas, were clean. There is free tea & coffee available. Free cereal & toast for breakfast. Micheal & Chuck are friendly hosts more than willing to offer suggestions on pubs, restaurants, tours, etc. I stayed two nights and will stay again if I make it back to Dingle.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrunkenYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
806 reviews
0.2 km away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
41.1 km away
An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Dingle Gate Hostel
Dingle Gate Hostel
#4 of 21 in Dingle
57 reviews
0.6 km away
Hillgrove Guesthouse
Hillgrove Guesthouse
#47 of 76 in Dingle
88 reviews
0.7 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideout Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel

Address: Dykegate Street, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Price Range: $33 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Hideout Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing