We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #10 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed in Hawthorn House while in Kenmare. Location was great, convenient to shopping and eating. Room was very spacious as was bathroom. Off street parking, quiet at night, friendly hosts and great breakfast. Had to go to lounge to get Wifi but it was no big deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmtjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    52
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
146
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

we really enjoyed our stay there. Mary was so warm and welcoming. She even made a reservation for us for dinner at the next town we are going too. The room was gigantic-clean and basic. Bring your own blow dryer if you can because the unit was a wall one without too much oopmh. The breakfast was good-coffee french press-yum. The location is great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drredpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Centrally located to all that downtown Kenmare has to offer, Hawthorn House has important off-street parking. My son and I stayed for two nights at Hawthorn House. Mary O'Brien and her family could not have made our time there more comfortable! We hope to be back and stay here again as a "home" base. Great, clean rooms, lovely and plentiful breakfasts, a willingness to help make the stay productive, informative, comfortable and warm! For any who have gluten-free concerns, Mary was able to accommodate my needs with ease.

Room Tip: There are self-catering and regular B&B options. Wifi in main house only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevDoc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, CT
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Located at the end of a main street, you can walk everywhere in Kenmare easily. Parking is a bit tight, but adequate (the entrance from the street is just to the left of the building as you face it) and not an issue. The room was spacious and clean, but bring some shampoo (soap is supplied). Mary is a great host and makes sure that you are pleased. Breakfast is really fine and delicious. The two cats are fun to watch too. My wife and I spent two nights here and were very happy with Hawthorn House.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoofleDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We spent one night at Hawthorn House on our recent three-week driving trip through Ireland and wished we would have stayed longer. Mary is so welcoming we felt like we were part of the family. Great recommendations, clean bright rooms and great breakfast made for a wonderful experience. Mary stated she welcomes constructive criticism but we simply can't think of anything to criticize! If you have time, stay with Mary more than one night!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.9 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.9 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
926 reviews
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.2 km away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
242 reviews
0.2 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Property: Hawthorn House
Address: Hawthorn House Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price range (per night): $140 - $146
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing