We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk and lunch”
Review of Derreen Gardens

Derreen Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 79.21*
and up
Ring of Beara Day Tour from Killarney
Ranked #10 of 49 things to do in Kenmare
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Derreen is a woodland garden that has a selection of narrow paths leading to the sea. You can choose a short stroll of about 40 minutes or take all day discovering the 8 miles of paths. Many of the plants were brought back from the Himalayas by the Victorian plant hunters. There is a cafe selling lunch or a selection of delicious hand made cakes during the summer months.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Quiche made with vegetables grown in the Derreen Gardens greenhouse--outstanding! Walking the trails through forests of rhododendron, cedar, and more--wonderful!

Thank dleipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

I'm so glad you appreciated it. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Derreen Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

We visited Derreen Gardens in late July. Pretty much none of the trees or wildflowers were in bloom although it may have been spectacular four to six weeks ago. The artificially planted forest was both large and diverse with many very old trees and shrubs. It was a pleasant walk and in spite of the season not very crowded so one could enjoy the serenity and overall ambience. I would like to pay tribute to the garden staff who came to my rescue with some long and heavy duty jumper leads when I managed to flatten the battery in my car.

Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and that we helped you on your way home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful location , tranquil and enchanting and well worth taking the time to visit . The woodland setting is excellent and has plenty to see.

Thank brendanjpmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for coming and come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I'm not sure I've ever been anywhere quite as beautiful as Derreen Gardens. I've got house and garden envy, but am so grateful to the family for allowing us to share this wonderful place. Although we need to go back in Spring to fully appreciate the plants, it's the most magical spot. The coastal views and mysterious jungle walks are wonderful and our dog enjoyed it too! I very much hope to return and see it when it is flowering.

I would have been interested to learn more about the family history, as the little I discovered was fascinating.

Thank kewcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to meeting you when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We took a drive down the Peninsula and had decided to stop here as we heard Derreen Gardens held the rental records for the Landsdowne Estate from which our ancestors had come. Unfortunately they moved the records the year before to University of Cork Archives however we had a nice bite of lunch with coffee then walked around the extensive Gardens. Had a lovely time exploring and looking at all the leprechaun houses. It's a great place for kids to have a chance to run around and explore. I have a teenage son and he really enjoyed it.

Thank Cmorriso1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Manager at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip. Please come again soon.
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derreen Gardens also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Derreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing