We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful world-garden”
Review of Derreen Gardens

Derreen Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 82.10*
and up
Ring of Beara Day Tour from Killarney
Ranked #9 of 49 things to do in Kenmare
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Derreen is a woodland garden that has a selection of narrow paths leading to the sea. You can choose a short stroll of about 40 minutes or take all day discovering the 8 miles of paths. Many of the plants were brought back from the Himalayas by the Victorian plant hunters. There is a cafe selling lunch or a selection of delicious hand made cakes during the summer months.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 22 June 2017

You can find here some plants from all over the world, but especially multiples kinds of Rhododendrons. Better plan your visit in may/june when they are in bloom.

Thank renwe8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

I'm so glad you appreciated the variety of plants we have in the garden. Yes if you do want to see the Rhododendrons in flower the Spring is the best time. I hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Amazing, peaceful gardens set on a private estate. Beautifully maintained trails lead you through displays of lush foliage and blooming flowers. Really deserves a few hours to see, there's a small cafe for tea and snacks. Bring an extra camera battery, you will take lots of photos.

Thank Omsibuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself. Come again soon.
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

It was very quiet and a bit drizzly the day we visited but the gardens were magical with stunning views. The food was excellent and we had a great lunch here. Could have stayed ages.

Thank Rebbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you coming and despite the day I'm glad you enjoyed the magic of Derreen. Come again soon.
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

In early May on a dry day the garden is superb. It is correctly described as "woodland" and there are some amazing trees, rhododendrons and tree ferns to see.
The visit is sensibly proced, but do invest 1 euro for the map and allow about 2 hours.
The cafe sells coffee, tea and cakes, but unfortunately no snack lunch offer. The welcome from the family owners was a bonus!
Recommended, despite the exit being far too narrow for our motorhome.

Thank Roganroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for coming and sorry about not being able to accommodate your motor home. I'm afraid, as you saw, all the trails are very old and not very suitable, but I'm glad you found us and come again soon.
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

This was the last place we visited on our trip and we were their first visitors of the year. It is a calm, interesting and lovely place. What a location! Amazing views, great variety. It's lovely and natural, not manicured, a bit wild.
We saw the sea eagle soaring overhead,we'd been hearing about it all week,perfect ending to an amazing holiday.

Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed and saw the sea eagle.
Come back soon.
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derreen Gardens also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Derreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing