We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location for a relaxing break in a cosy...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Master Bedroom Fuchsia Cottage Kenmare
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Cottage
Master Bedroom
Fuchsia Cottage Kenmare
Kitchen & Dining
Sitting Room
Welcome Pack
Single Room
Garden View
Twin Room
Fuchsia Cottage Front
Garden Patio
View From Kitchen
View
View From Sitting Room
Open Fire Sitting Room
View From Garden
View From Garden
Free WiFi
Bathroom
Dining Room Sitting Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Eileen O
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location for a relaxing break in a cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wonderful hosts, very welcoming. There was a bottle of wine, flowers and home made bread to welcome us. The view from the cottage was absolutely breathtaking! We recommend visiting Dureen gardens with its tropical, peaceful setting. We would also recommend visiting O'Donnabhain's pub in Kenmare with it's friendly staff, good food, live music and, of course, Guinness! We will definitely return to Fuchsia cottage for another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so clean and what a view!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlChris...
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another Rave”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Joop and Maria have created paradise on earth-----and they are the perfect hosts. The cottage was perfect: spectacular views, a delightful garden, well equipped and cheery kitchen, lovely eating area, cozy living room, comfortable bedrooms. When we walked in we were greeted with a fresh baked loaf of bread and a bottle of wine. Would we stay there again? Wrong question: why on earth did we ever leave?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View/The Hosts
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiuLiu73
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and comfortable cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Fuchsia cottage with my husband, our two kids and my mother. From the moment we arrived we loved every aspect of the cottage; the amazing views over the bay, the beautiful garden and the cosy and immaculate interior . It made us feel like we were really going to enjoy our stay. (and we did of course!) The owners, who live next door, are very friendly and available to offer assistance if needed, and they made us feel very welcome by providing a 'welcome pack' of wine, homemade bread, cheese and orange juice. The cottage is located just outside Kenmare town, and there is lots to do and see on the peninsula so it was a great base for our daily trips, and a cosy home away from home to come back to at the end of each day. This was our first time visiting Kerry as a family with my mum joining us from Holland and staying at Kenmare cottage helped make it a really wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views from the cottage and the facilities and amenities provided
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazhappy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with fantastic views.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent a lovely week here with our daughter and her family. One of the rooms upstairs had a double, single and a cot so ideal for their young family. The cottage has everything you need and more. The bottle of wine and homemade bread is a lovely touch and very welcoming. This really is a great place to stay with very friendly and helpful owners who live next door. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in this area you would not be disappointed with here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylandch...
rockaway, nj
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay - will definitely be back !"”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

As another reviewer stated, if you are looking for a place in Kenmare, stop reading this review and book it right now !

A fantastic stay ! Joop and Maria couldn't have been nicer. The cottage is lovely with a great view. Just a few minutes from Kenmare, yet with a nice, remote feel. It's very comfortable, immaculate, and has all the amenities you need: even a loaf of fresh baked bread and a bottle of wine waiting for you.

Joop and Maria were incredibly helpful, recommending terrific restaurants in Kenmare and even helping to arrange a trip to the Skelligs (also highly recommended).

We are already talking about our next visit to Ireland, which will certainly include a stay at Fuchsia Cottage !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing