We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hawthorn Lodge

Comfy leather furniture in the sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfy leather furniture in the sitting room
Double en-suite bedroom Triple en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Comfy leather furniture in the sitting room
Double en-suite bedroom
Triple en-suite bedroom
Pretty flowers add a cottage touch
Fully fitted kitchen with dining table and chairs
Designer cushions add a finishing touch
Feature fireplace in the sitting room
Light streaming through the large kitchen window
Hawthorn House guesthouse next door
One of two luxury bathrooms
Front of Holiday Home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona O
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I couldn't recommend this accommodation higher. The house was perfect, had everything we needed and we were traveling with our 6 months baby. Mary is an absolute gem! So welcoming and so kind. She gave us great tips about what to visit around the area. The house located in the heart of the town with the shops and cafes just a stone throw away. Great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you so much fiona for that lovely review. you have a lovely family
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome, with privacy”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I made an unscheduled overnight stop at Hawthorn House as we toured around Southern Ireland. We were welcome and provided with helpful information about the locality so we were able to take in the wonderful scenery around Lough Derg. The room was comfortable well equipped - the shower was easy to operate (so many aren't, when you are a strange in town!). Although we were sharing the house with the family, we had privacy and quiet. This was appreciated. The fee was very reasonable and I'd recommend a visit - perhaps for rather more time than we could allocate!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hostess
Liked least: The WiFi was a bit hit and miss at times
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
What a lovely review, thanks guys ! Thank you for leaving my lodge spotless and clean. hopefully will see you again
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob H
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience! Ideal Location!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

There's almost a limitless supply of good things to say about our experience at Hawthorn Lodge. Mary was warm, friendly and welcoming in addition to being very attentive to our needs. The property is in perhaps the best location in Kenmare - which was why I selected it. Short walking distance (literally around the corner) to Pubs and shops. Ample room for parking our car.

We stayed in the two-bedroom duplex home unit located next to the B & B. All appliances were in great condition. The home was exceptionally clean and functional (range/oven, television, washer/dryer,...). The outdoor area in back of the house (also the main entrance to the home) was fenced and offered privacy along with outdoor seating.

We used Hawthorn Lodge as a 7-day home base from which to do day trips (Dingle, Ring of Kerry, Killarney National Park, etc.). This proved to be an ideal location for most day trip activities. However, given the driving time, I would not recommend doing a day-trip to Dingle from Kenmare. I had been considering using Killarney as a Home Base but I'm so happy I listened to the advise from others on Trip Advisor and selected Kenmare instead. I'm especially happy I found Hawthorn Lodge.

Best aspects: excellent location, friendly and attentive service from the staff, very clean home, charming and highly accessible town.

Minor problem: The WiFi didn't work well for most of the stay. A new Internet Service Provider had been recently added and there were some connection problems at times. Also, the WiFi is really intended for use in the B&B and not so much for the duplex next door. To get service over WiFi in duplex, I needed to be close to the window near the front of the home. However, Hawthorn Lodge gave me complete access to the library/lounge in the main home and I had no Internet service problems there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing