We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Experience! Ideal Location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hawthorn Lodge

Comfy leather furniture in the sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfy leather furniture in the sitting room
Double en-suite bedroom Triple en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Comfy leather furniture in the sitting room
Double en-suite bedroom
Triple en-suite bedroom
Pretty flowers add a cottage touch
Fully fitted kitchen with dining table and chairs
Designer cushions add a finishing touch
Feature fireplace in the sitting room
Light streaming through the large kitchen window
Hawthorn House guesthouse next door
One of two luxury bathrooms
Front of Holiday Home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Bob H
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience! Ideal Location!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

There's almost a limitless supply of good things to say about our experience at Hawthorn Lodge. Mary was warm, friendly and welcoming in addition to being very attentive to our needs. The property is in perhaps the best location in Kenmare - which was why I selected it. Short walking distance (literally around the corner) to Pubs and shops. Ample room for parking our car.

We stayed in the two-bedroom duplex home unit located next to the B & B. All appliances were in great condition. The home was exceptionally clean and functional (range/oven, television, washer/dryer,...). The outdoor area in back of the house (also the main entrance to the home) was fenced and offered privacy along with outdoor seating.

We used Hawthorn Lodge as a 7-day home base from which to do day trips (Dingle, Ring of Kerry, Killarney National Park, etc.). This proved to be an ideal location for most day trip activities. However, given the driving time, I would not recommend doing a day-trip to Dingle from Kenmare. I had been considering using Killarney as a Home Base but I'm so happy I listened to the advise from others on Trip Advisor and selected Kenmare instead. I'm especially happy I found Hawthorn Lodge.

Best aspects: excellent location, friendly and attentive service from the staff, very clean home, charming and highly accessible town.

Minor problem: The WiFi didn't work well for most of the stay. A new Internet Service Provider had been recently added and there were some connection problems at times. Also, the WiFi is really intended for use in the B&B and not so much for the duplex next door. To get service over WiFi in duplex, I needed to be close to the window near the front of the home. However, Hawthorn Lodge gave me complete access to the library/lounge in the main home and I had no Internet service problems there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carolyn L
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation. Excellent location!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I & our 2 children stayed for a week in this lovely house. Mary was very welcoming & friendly. We were really impressed with the spacious house & it's cleanliness. Being based right in the town was brilliant as it was handy for essentials & the choice of restaurants, cafes, & lovely shops to browse round really added to our holiday. We were fortunate enough to have fantastic weather & finding Derrynane beach (inc lifeguard) was brilliant. The Kerry scenery is stunning & the locals are friendly. The owners Mary & Noel were always on hand but very discreet. It was nice to know they were there. Mary even got up early to give us breakfast in the B&B on our last morning before our long journey home. We could go on but will finish by saying that we were all sad to leave but look forward to returning one day. We would definitely recommend Hawthorne Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bren104
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely , Spacious , modern house , with all mod cons .”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Two great double bedrooms , both with large bathrooms . Guest wc downstairs . Ideal location in centre of Kenmare . Owners Noel and Mary very nice and helpful . Will stay again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aydeena
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Central”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Great house in great location!!! Very welcoming people and felt well looked after. House was comfortable, equipped with all necessities, towels, bed linen, soaps, tea/coffee, milk and heat was on so it was lovely and warm on our arrival!
The location is right at the end of the main street in kenmare and there is parking too (although a little tight sometimes). The village of kenmare is full of beautiful shops and restaurants and it is ideal for exploring the county. For good food there are loads of places, Coachmans and Foleys to name a few!!
The post office was right beside us and they have internet and although internet is hard to get in general around kenmare the staff in the post office are helpful and friendly.
Will hopefully be back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable surroundings
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing