We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best house I have ever stayed in, overlooking...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seal Rock Cottage

View from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the garden
View from the cottage Master Bedroom (please note that there is no longer a TV in this room)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
View from the garden
View from the cottage
Master Bedroom (please note that there is no longer a TV in this room)
Real fire
The cottage
Garden Room
Dining and Kitchen
The house
Sitting Room
Guest Bedroom
En Suite Bathroom
Seals resting
Seal watching
Sitting room
Sunset
Down to the beach
Rear terrace
Evening at the waterside terrace (please note that the kayaks were loaned for this photo)
Double rainbow over the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jobojek
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best house I have ever stayed in, overlooking the stunning, rugged bay; seals and hares abound in this heaven..”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sometimes you look at the website photos and can't imagine the house will be that perfect but it was. Stylish, funky, sumptuously decorated; warm cosy nooks and a magical terrace before you walk to the waters edge. Wave watching, storm tracking and sunsets to die for from the beautiful sun room. I cried when we had to leave it was so calming, peaceful and special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron P
Camano Island, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I've been to Ireland a few times....This place is the one I want to return to”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From the time you pull up to the gate your saying to yourself, WOW!
Incredible view of the water and the Berra Penninsula. I felt as if I was seeing Ireland from days gone by. Very quiet and serene. The cottage itself is very well equipped everything you need. The two bedrooms are very roomy and the beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The only thing lacking was a closet. There were no closets anywhere in the house to hang anything up. Strange.
Since I do all the cooking I can say that the kitchen has everything you need to cook anything. We usually only had breakfast and dinner since the days were spent out and about. There is a TV but I never turned it on. We read and listened to a lot of music.
One of the most romantic places to stay. I will return someday with just my wife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being isolated from the rest of the world
Liked least: Time went to fast
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
I would just like to respond to the comment on the lack of clothes hanging space (closets) mentioned in the review above. Both our bedrooms have sloping ceilings in places and are therefore not really suitable for tall wardrobes. There are clothes hooks (and hangers) on all the upstairs doors should guests wish to use these for a few garments and each bedroom has ample drawer space.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin r
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location with stunning views; first class accommodation”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Seal Rock for a week and had an excellent time both at the cottage itself and travelling around Kerry and Beara. Travelling to Seal Rock for the first time is a lovely adventure - single track road over a long brow with stunning views as the cottage appears in the distance. Very well equipped cottage with extremely comfy beds and a landscaped garden dropping down to the stone table right on the ocean - we could have stayed here reading books and enjoying the scenery rather than going out. The weather was too good to do that and we travelled around to enjoy some of the many wonderful walks and sights that were nearby. All admin dealt with promptly and courteously. Couldn't wish for anything else in a holiday location or experience. Did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Landscaped garden with idyllic sea view
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage with wonderful views in Ireland”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a wonderful week in this beautiful cottage. The view is terrific and the cottage is beautifully decorated and has every amenity that you would want. It is a great spot for making day trips on the Ring of Kerry, the Beara Peninsula and all of the areas near Kenmare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky C
Carrollton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted in an Irish cottage experience, from the views to the amenities!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a lovely cottage with luxury decor and amenities, and an amazing view of the sea! We spent two weeks here and the location on The Ring of Kerry is one of the most scenic areas of Ireland with lots of things to do and see. The cottage is beautiful, the beds were luxurious, and I would definitely stay here again. We took long walks along the lane and admired the amazing views, sunshine and rainbows. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The owners were very thoughtful and accommodating of their guests with a detailed guide of the local shops and restaurants, and activities, as well as everything we needed to just stay in and enjoy the fireplace, music and cook in the well appointed kitchen. Can't wait to come back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing