We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house, wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Kilkeana Farm House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilkeana Farm House
Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Kilkeana Farm House
Entrance
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Dining Room
Double Bed Room
Twin Bedroom
Jacuzzi Bathroom
Fuchia on the farm
Sheep on the Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
cathys324
Freelandville, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful house, wonderful location”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is simply an amazing house in an absolutely gorgeous location. My husband and I and our young adult daughter stayed in the farmhouse for five nights. We would definitely choose to stay here in the future if we are fortunate enough to return to Kenmare. The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean; it's even better than the photos indicate.

Mary and James were excellent hosts. After arriving in Kenmare, we called Mary for directions to the house as she had instructed. When we called, she happened to be in town and said she would meet us so we could follow her to the farmhouse. Upon arrival, she took us through the house and gave us detailed instructions for operating appliances, hot water, etc. We were also greeted with a welcome pack of scones and fresh fruit.

This was our second trip to Ireland (and most definitely not our last). We loved Kenmare and the surrounding area--so many things to see and do and excellent shops and restaurants. Kilkeana Farmhouse was part of a wonderful trip. Highly recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, clean, up-to-date house in a stunning location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pawineguy
Fredonia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I recently traveled to Ireland with our three boys, ages 13, 11 and 9 and stayed at the Kilkeana Farm house for four days. When we drove to it I was surprised how long of a driveway we had and thought we were going to be pretty "out there" but when we got to the house, I was instantly in love with it. There were cows in the yard (fenced in) and sheep as well. The view was phenomenol, the house was in perfect condition and very clean. We had plenty of room to spread out and a beautiful kitchen to have our own home cooked meals in. On out first morning there, James stopped up and offered to take us on a walk of the property to where the sheep were and to share with us some of the history of this land. It was one of the best experiences of my kids lives and mine too. Staying there was renewing to the soul and not just a vacation, but a blessing for all of us. I highly recommend it if you are considering spending some time in Kenmare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmcafee
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“This is a wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a wonderful place to stay. The view of the sheep and the mountains just beautiful. Your farm house is spotless and cozy. Everything you need is there. Only 5 minutes from town and if you want to go out to the pubs a Taxi service is available. Thank you Mary for your hospitality and your wonderful treats such a nice thing to do. It was a pleasure to meet you your such a warm and kind soul. I'd recommend your lovely place in a heartbeat. Patty ,Dan ,Deb , Jackie, and Mary Ann.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkr-trave...
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place - highly recommended”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here in April and were more than happy with our choice of this holiday cottage. Location is a few km outside Kenmare on the slope of Peakeen Mountain, which gives wide views (and a possibility of some afternoon work-out climbing the mountain). The house stands alone between trees, accessed by it's own driveway. You'll find the sheep on the adjacent meadow and birds singing in the trees in the morning. The interior is very comfortable with plenty of space. The house is extremely well equipped - there is everything from USB charging device to hairdryer. Fruit and biscuits were on the table for welcome. Definitively a recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbav...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing - as close as you can get to nature!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We felt incredibly lucky to happen upon this house, what a Gem! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend to any family. It was really great to be able to interact with all the farm animals, we even got to see some deer and foxes! The hosts Mary and James are so lovely and the house is just charming. It is an ideal base to discover, in my opinion, the most beautiful place in Ireland! 100% - Stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clealiness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing