We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Choice in Kenmare”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millfield House

Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden Large well-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden
Large well-equipped kitchen
Sitting room with a traditional open log fire place
Dining area is perfect for long family suppers
Perfect for that romantic break away
Morning sunshine in the double en-suite room
Modern en-suite shower room
Bright bedrooms with mountain views
Farmers' market every Wednesday in Kenmare
Landscaped garden to the rear of house
Fish caught locally by guests who stayed at Millfield
15th August traditional fair day in Kenmare
Ross castle, Killarney
Suspension Bridge - 2km from house
Sheep grazing locally in the summer sunshine
Wild life on the nearby roughty river
Bright hall with beautiful sunshine
The heritage town of Kenmare - 1km away
Beautiful bars, restaurants and shops - 1km away
A group boating on the Lakes of Killarney
Sea views - 3km away from Millfield
The White Strand, fantastic for swimming
Ring of Kerry Golf Course - 5km from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Julius118...
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Choice in Kenmare”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent the week from 13. – 20. May as 2nd station of our Ireland trip in Millfield House which is about 1.5 km outside the center of Kenmare. Although with 3 bed- and 2 bathrooms it was actually too large for us, being only 2 persons, we would choose it again in any case. Without describing any detail, absolutely nothing was missed. Bedrooms and livingroom are comfortably furnished, kitchen is very spacious with nothing lacking. Big TV and free Wi-Fi.
Gail turned out to be a extraordinarily nice and friendly hostess who had so many welcome gifts (wine, cake, bread, pralines) for us that we could not eat them all.
So as a result: first choice again, if coming back to Kenmare.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Millfield and it was my pleasure to meet you both, call again, will be thrilled to see you!
Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annwalker...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Your home from home in Kerry, Southern Ireland”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It is no co-incidence that virtually every review written about Millfield mentions the owner, Gail. She is outstanding - cheerful, friendly and full of enthusiasm. She gave us a comprehensive introduction to her property of which she is rightly very proud and lots of information re the surrounding area. The house is extremely spacious, very comfortable and is equipped with everything you could possibly need - I have rarely seen so much kitchen equipment. She also leaves the property stacked with 'goodies' - bread, cake, sugar, tea, coffee.......even a box of chocolates!!
The surrounding countryside is truly stunning and we were so fortunate to have a week of 'wall to wall' sunshine to see it at its best.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this property. Thank you Gail for everything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you kindly for your lovely review of Millfield and of course the weather was just fantastic, delighted to see you again!
Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAILLY F
1 review
“You are looking for a very comfy house for your holiday and touring Kerry”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Fantastic welcome, We've never seen anything like it.
Gail has been so nice explaining everything at our arrival as well as the welcome pack after our very long journey coming from France.
Anything you need, Gail's house has it. We spent very a good holiday touring around, too short thought. This place is absolutely wonderful and relaxing.
We will be back as we haven't seen all of Kerry.Advice : If it is sunny in the morning, just go and enjoy the day. We have been very lucky with the weather, it has been nice and warm and we even got colours in April. Thank you so much Gail for your very nice welcome, we really felt home in your house.
Muriel and François

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and also for being so lovely, thrilled you had great weather as Kerry and Kenmare does look extra nice with the sunny days. Delighted to have you back anytime.
Regards,
Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geumtrifl...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Holiday Home”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Firstly, you won't find a more kind, generous and enthusiastic owner than Gail. She left an incredible number of food items, and she even had the kettle on, and a tea tray set out for our arrival. Gail responded quickly to our inquires and was very communicative. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and the entire house is spotlessly clean. Gail also provides a lot of maps, books and travel materials for the area. The WiFi is very reliable. The location is excellent and the town of Kenmare has everything one could ever need for self-catering. I highly recommend this vacation rental.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thanks to you both for your really kind review which I really appreciate, delighted to have you both back at Millfield.
Kind regards,
Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A perfect home away from home !!!!”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Upon arriving at Millfield House, Gail greeted us first class! She is a very friendly person and gave us a detailed tour of the premises. A wonderful welcome package was awaiting us plus the home was decorated for Chistmas as we were spending the holidays here...a very nice touch indeed!

The location of Millfield House is excellent! The town of Kenmare is approximately a 2 minute drive away or approximately a 10-12 minute walk. Ring of Kerry, Ring of Berra, Dingle, Kinsale and Cork are all short drives as well.

Millfield House has every possible amenity that you require for a wonderful stay...you will certainly not be disappointed!

If you're looking for a perfect home away from home in County Kerry...this is the place to be!

Thanks again Gail! We will certainly be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing