We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient, comfortable and good value.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millfield House

Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden Large well-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden
Large well-equipped kitchen
Sitting room with a traditional open log fire place
Dining area is perfect for long family suppers
Perfect for that romantic break away
Morning sunshine in the double en-suite room
Modern en-suite shower room
Bright bedrooms with mountain views
Farmers' market every Wednesday in Kenmare
Landscaped garden to the rear of house
Fish caught locally by guests who stayed at Millfield
15th August traditional fair day in Kenmare
Ross castle, Killarney
Suspension Bridge - 2km from house
Sheep grazing locally in the summer sunshine
Wild life on the nearby roughty river
Bright hall with beautiful sunshine
The heritage town of Kenmare - 1km away
Beautiful bars, restaurants and shops - 1km away
A group boating on the Lakes of Killarney
Sea views - 3km away from Millfield
The White Strand, fantastic for swimming
Ring of Kerry Golf Course - 5km from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Convenient, comfortable and good value.”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Your holiday begins the moment you meet Gail. The warmth of her welcome and her enthusiasm make you immediately glad you chose Ireland and Millfield house.
So convenient, just a short walk to Kenmare, right past a great vegetarian restaurant run as a co-operative, for shopping, drinking and eating.
A well designed house, there were four of us and we fitted in just fine. With a spacious kitchen, big dining space and comfortable lounge we were able to socialise or take time out as we wanted.
Everything was really clean and well appointed and all appliances worked well and were easy to use (the instruction folder was comprehensive).
Slept like a top the whole week. A combination of the fresh Irish air and the comfortable beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirlyn
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect stay!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I always do self catering and this was one of the best houses I've stayed in. It is exceptionally well equipped including extras like washing powder and dishwasher powder. Gail is lovely and gave us a great welcome. The house is a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and very convenient to the ring and Eclipse Adventure Center which my kids loved for riding and kayaking.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiki M
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“One of the nicest rentals”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely 3 bedroom garden townhouse. Modern, well appointed, spotless with great amenities. Central to touring the Ring of Kerry and the Ring of Bearra. Gail, our host, made our visit delightful, and provided great suggestions for restaurants and touring ideas. We would love to come back here. One suggestion is that it would be helpful if the actual street address was included in the post.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thanks Kiki for your lovely review and suggestion. Delighted to have you back any time and hope you and Robert enjoyed the rest of your trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M
Bermagui
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kenmare is the best base for seeing the delights of Kerry”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Millfield house is set in a small private group of four houses within ten minutes walk of the centre of Kenmare. The house is modern, clean and very well equipped. We enjoyed an open fire each evening.
Our host waited for us to arrive and gave us a comprehensive tour of the house before leaving us to enjoy a welcome basket with wine and local eggs for the morning.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week and used the house as a base to explore the region. We were able to walk to a variety of quality restaurants in the evening and enjoyed some traditional music in the nearby hotel.
All in all a totally positive experience. Thank you Gail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location within easy walking distance of town
Liked least: It was all great!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlenea...
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and overall a great stay!”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This year me and my partner have decided to do something different this year for Christmas together with this sister, her partner and their 6 year old boy. So we flew to Ireland for our very first time and decided to book a cottage for our stay.
I must say that we have made a great decision! First of all the location is great since it's not far from town where you can find many shops (such as Aldi, Lidl) and a lot of pubs and restaurants to visit which was great! Secondly, Gail is genuinely one of the nicest lady we've met! She was very helpful, very accommodating and she left us a lot of goodies when we arrived!
Even one time when we had a problem with our TV, 5 minutes after I called her she came over to the house, then 30 minutes after that she came back with a brand new TV box!! :)

Thank you Gail for your help. We have enjoyed our stay. House was always warm and cosy and had everything we needed!

Recommendation: If you are hiring a car or have one already do go to Kilkenny. The drive to Kilkenny from Kenmare is amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your review and it was my pleasure to have you all at Millfield for Christmas. Delighted you enjoyed Kenmare with its many pubs and restaurants. Hope to see you again in the future! Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing