We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm and comfortable "home from home" even in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millfield House

Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden Large well-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden
Large well-equipped kitchen
Sitting room with a traditional open log fire place
Dining area is perfect for long family suppers
Perfect for that romantic break away
Morning sunshine in the double en-suite room
Modern en-suite shower room
Bright bedrooms with mountain views
Farmers' market every Wednesday in Kenmare
Landscaped garden to the rear of house
Fish caught locally by guests who stayed at Millfield
15th August traditional fair day in Kenmare
Ross castle, Killarney
Suspension Bridge - 2km from house
Sheep grazing locally in the summer sunshine
Wild life on the nearby roughty river
Bright hall with beautiful sunshine
The heritage town of Kenmare - 1km away
Beautiful bars, restaurants and shops - 1km away
A group boating on the Lakes of Killarney
Sea views - 3km away from Millfield
The White Strand, fantastic for swimming
Ring of Kerry Golf Course - 5km from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stuittgar...
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm and comfortable "home from home" even in the depths of Winter”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Thank you Gail for making our stay in Kenmare during the last days of 2014 and early days of 2015 so lovely. Probably the highlight was the open fire - which we lit every evening - very romantic for us city folks! The house is very well equipped and we very much appreciate that you recently installed WiFi!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gail's care of her customers from the moment of first contact.
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITHL140...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Over and Above Expectations”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

An excellent Holiday 'Home' and location, to explore the 'Kingdom' (Kerry) and adjacent areas.
Our home for 2 weeks, and we were sorry to leave.
The accommodation was over and above, what we imagined from description and reviews.
Well done to Owners, and Thanks for extras, and your kindness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thank you kindly for your lovely review and delighted you enjoyed Kenmare and the Kingdom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin S
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent accommodation - recommended”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for a wonderful week in September with our 6 month old baby and our choice of accommodation couldn't have been better.

Gail had arranged a baby cot, high chair and blankets for us and the house itself was in top condition. The location is great for exploring the Ring of Kerry or Beara peninsula and Kenmare is only a 10 minute walk away.

Gail made arrangements for us to check out early on the final day as we were travelling to Galway.

Many thanks for a great holiday and we will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Delighted that the whole family enjoyed Millfield and Kenmare. Looking forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm T
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great property!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in early September in this lovely property which is rather like a 'Tardis'! From the front it appears to be quite small, but this is very deceptive - it has a large lounge and a very big kitchen & dining area with all mod cons . There is a utility room with washer and drier. We have never been received with such a warm welcome and an outstanding 'welcome' pack from Gail. There are 3 bedrooms, double, twin & single. 3 toilets, bath and shower. A garden with picnic table completes this 5* property. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.
Kenmare is an interesting, small town with a variety of shops, pubs and restaurants and 2 large supermarkets. There are no charges for parking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience.
Liked least: Still trying to think of something!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review which is very important to me, delighted you all enjoyed Kenmare and yes the welcome pack goes down a treat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pengor
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very clean, well though out holiday accomodation.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage is almost perfect. It's in a good location for exploring Co. Kerry and comes with a small, enclosed garden and is set back from the road. Passing traffic is not an isssue.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. So much thought has been put into all the maps and guides and we appreciated the user manuals for all the appliances. All worked well and effortlessly. Gail met us and showed us around and spent time telling us things of interest. She had even provided phone numbers for doctors and dentist if required.

The bedroom was equipped with plenty of hanging space with more than enough hangers and plenty of drawers. Unfortunately the bed was a standard double and not very comfortable. The shower was good though the extractor fan was not very efficient.

The kitchen was well though out and had everything one could wish for except for a large saucepan which would have been good for pasta dishes.

Electricity and oil is by meter and can be expensive. Use the fire instead - so much nicer and very homely.

Kenmare is an atttactive little town with pubs , restaurants and all sorts of interesting shops. There are two supermarkets which stocked everything we wanted.

All in all, a great cottage and wonderful chocolate cake to welcome us. Thanks Gail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gail and the well equipped cottage.
Liked least: The bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments you have made about Millfield. I take great pride in my holiday home and appreciate feedback from the guests. I will certainly purchase another saucepan for pasta as the large saucepan is really too large. Regarding the double bed, Millfield was inspected by Fáilte Ireland in May 2014 and the beds etc were awarded 4 star rating. The guests paid €14 for the week for both oil and electricity and i really think meter reading is the fairest system. Delighted you enjoyed the chocolate cake, it usually goes down a treat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing