We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Setting!”
other travellers have booked this property
the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the cottage
sunset from the patio christmas in the Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
the cottage
sunset from the patio
christmas in the Cottage
dining area
kitchen
double bedroom
view from behind the cottage
rear view of cottage
sitting room
kitchen area
double bedroom
twin bedded room
view from bedroom window
the patio
the cottage
tea time
twin room
Meet Mutt the pet sheep
good morning
main reception area
the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Cindy M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Setting!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Ireland and in our two-week stay this was by far our favorite place. The views are unbeatable and the bed was so comfortable. We love hiking and this is the ideal place for access to so many amazing trails. Mag and her husband were so welcoming and friendly. We loved their dogs and all the sheep, what an amazing place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and View
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karathegr...
West Jefferson, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This Irish cottage was absolutely perfect! I cannot put into words how incredibly breathtaking the views are surrounding the cottage. The cottage itself is perfectly quaint and serene. Mags and Eugene are the perfect hosts with their generosity and kindness. I advise anyone and everyone to stay here.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumayAust...
austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a great place”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

hidden and romantic
the best place if you are looking for rest and relaxation
you have everything you need, the cottage is fully equipped
Mag anwsered quickly to any email,; contact is easy and relaxed

we really recommend this cottage and the hosts!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherill3
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Everything you could want and more”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Mag and Eugene's cottage just this past week (May 16-23, 2015). We got home last night and I wanted to write a review while it was fresh in my mind. If you love nature, being outdoors, animals, gorgeous scenery and a relaxed pace, this cottage is the absolutely perfect home-base for you. Firstly, I can't say enough about Mag and Eugene's hospitality. Mag is one of the most naturally personable and helpful people we have ever met. Despite the fact that they are both very busy people, they frequently took time to chat with us when we were greeted by the welcoming committee (their four awesome dogs) when we were coming and going from the property. The cottage itself is a generous size, very private far up a hill from the main house. It has everything you need to prepare food, do laundry, and feel like you're at home during your stay. There is a combo washer/dryer which is oh so very welcome when on vacation and particularly when hiking and getting muddy! The location is spectacular - no exaggeration at all! The view from the porch will take your breath away. The region is gorgeous. You can go hiking from the property itself or on numerous trails nearby. There are a few decent restaurants and cafes within a short drive, small grocery stores etc. within 5-15 mins drive. We typically drove to the town of Kenmare (about 25 min away) for dinner when we didn't feel like cooking simply because there was more choice and some excellent restaurants which we felt offered better value (No 35, The Mews were both very very good). The town was frequently en route for us anyway when we were returning from a day of exploring. If you'd prefer to stick closer to the cottage though, you won't go wrong with Teddy O'Sullivans. We never tried Josie's and only had a snack at Pedals and Boots but we heard good things about both. Things to do in the area: I highly recommend spending time exploring the Beara Peninsula - on foot and by car. The Healy Pass is lovely on a clear day. Gleninchaquin is beautiful and there are hikes of varying difficulty. The ring of Beara is just as lovely as the Ring of Kerry if not more so, and MUCH less busy. I highly recommend making the trip to Dingle - the scenery there is incredible. Killarny is also not too far afield. Most importantly, you need to stay at this cottage. It's a lovely home-base and you will miss the soft bleating of sheep long after you leave. Thank you so much to Mag and Eugene for the warm hospitality. Thanks also to the dogs for helping us miss our own dog just a bit less: Max, Ben, Lassie and Tish (hope I got all the names right). I can't fail to mention the little pet lamb (who was sadly orphaned but adopted by the family) who had to be the happiest, frolicking, leaping little lamb we've ever seen. Thank you all for the memories! I am sure we will be back and we will be telling everyone else we know that they should visit too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and scenery
Liked least: The sofa has seen better days, so we just used the chairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamapez
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wine and cheese on the patio with soul stirring views, perfection!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Mag and Eugene are the perfect hosts, so helpful and welcoming to their wonderful cottage.The kitchen was a godsend as were the washer/dryer. My sister and I spent four nights here last fall and it was the highlight of our trip. The beds are comfy, the view is to die for and the fireplace was fully stocked and wonderful. Love the skylights on the second floor, it was so light and airy. Can't help but have a great time here ---- go, and give Mag our regards!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere.
Liked least: Gotta be honest Mag, you need a new couch!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing