We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Took us back in time!

Beautiful scenery as we were driving from Kenmare to Glencardiff. Stopped at Molly's to enjoy the... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Barbara B
Wonderful place

We went in to buy some of the lovely local things they have. Came out with loads more. The cottage... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
HermanandSandra
,
United Kingdom
Read all 886 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kenmare
from USD 80.50
More Info
from USD 80.50
More Info
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
642
133
21
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
133
21
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop fish stew irish meal local crafts scones soup irish goods tour group stone row apple crumble the owner trafalgar tour rural ireland back in the day worth a stop cup of tea story telling
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Beautiful scenery as we were driving from Kenmare to Glencardiff.

Stopped at Molly's to enjoy the view and were entranced by what we found at Molly Gallivan's Cottage and Traditional Farm. After exploring, we decided we had to go back for the promised evening entertainment. Later that evening we were picked up at our lodging and taken back for the special Irish dinner and entertainment. Also, we were able to get in a wee bit of Christmas shopping for the folks back home.

Greeted by the family and friends who had prepared a traditional Irish supper along with homey entertainment… and Irish whiskey, we felt right at hone. The music, dancing and storytelling were such fun.

Had a marvelous evening at Molly Gallivan's Cottage. We were happy to be delivered back to our "home" outside Kenmare…after the Irish whiskey!

Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

We went in to buy some of the lovely local things they have. Came out with loads more. The cottage is beautifully preserved. We didn't see the whole place though. Need to go back

1  Thank HermanandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were driving the road to Glencardiff and stopped here as we were going by. There is a nice view from the parking lot and the shop itself has a ton of different items in it. There is another building in the back so it is much larger than it looks from the front. There are also restrooms out back. We didn't try the café but there is one there for food and drinks. This place is just before you get to Caha Pass which is a very pretty drive.

I thought this was a very nice shop with a large selection of nice items for purchase. Definitely worth a stop in my opinion, especially if you are passing by anyway.

Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very poor. Tea rooms? Nothing to eat. Got greeted by a cow, pig and 3 hens who wanted to follow us. Too close for comfort. Exterior very inviting.

Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We love to stop into Molly Gallivan's when we are visiting Kenmare. It will give you a good idea of the way it was back in the day. Cute shop with woolens and you can get some tea and a bite to eat also.

Thank skretschmer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is what it is, being a nice break on the road from Glengarriff to Kenmare to enjoy the spectacular views, have a cup of tea, meander about the wee shop selling all sorts of crafts and jewellery.
There is also a wee tour on offer, which I didn't avail of and for which I believe there is a charge but sure on a leisurely day travelling with the family why wouldn't you take advantage of a stop to stretch the legs.

Thank 972JamesO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best part is what you see in the picture. Old truck, renovated farmhouse, it's picturesque. Souvineer prices are a little high. Walking though the farm is buy donation. We paid $10eu for the couple. Warning: watch your step on the farm path. Lots of live animals leaving their presence.

Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped off here en route from Glengarriff to Kenmare. We enjoyed a very reasonably priced coffee and beautiful scones, while taking in the spectacular scenery. The woman looking after us was very friendly and full of interesting chat. The shop is full of wonderful examples of Irish crafts at good prices.

Thank PaulaBFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped off last year when we saw Molly Gallivan's Cottage at the side of the road and after finding how nice it was returned again this year. At first glance, with several tour buses outside and Irish music wafting across the road we had expected a rather over commercialised tourist experience but we were pleased to find that the owners have preserved the traditional contents and character of the farm completely. Having taken on a small holding in West Wales myself in the 1970's Molly Gallivan's is very reminiscent of the small farms like ours was in the past and it is very authentic. It's a really good example of living history and shows how hard life must have been for someone like Molly. Also the stone row is interesting and has a very good explanation of how it worked as a calendar in prehistoric times. Enjoyable visit and not too far to walk either!

Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful place to visit to get a feel for early Irish farm life! Not overwhelming or too long. Does involve a small amount of walking up a hill. Learned about peat and the homes where the families and animals lived. Wonderful views and photo ops. And a fabulous gift shop with true Irish remembrances and gifts! Authentic Irish clothing from Ireland too. Don’t drive by this! A very pleasant surprise!
Aileen

Thank Aileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews