We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
a good way to get a feel for the history of the area

My a quick trip through on a rainy day. It was a very good opportunity to get a feel for what life... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
UncleJack
,
Melrose, Massachusetts
Passing Visit

Nice little shop with some interesting bits, what I like most is looking in the house it is just... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Michael O
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 888 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kenmare
from USD 80.60
More Info
from USD 80.60
More Info
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
687
162
27
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
162
27
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop fish stew irish meal scones irish goods soup local crafts tour group apple crumble the owner stone row worth a stop story telling cup of tea step back in time potatoes toast
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Our tour guide took us to see Molly Gallvian's - Stephen, one of the owners, gave us a tour of the farm - he was an absolute hoot - gave us a lot of history of the farm, the way of life but always in a light-hearted and fun way. Great jokes. The animals were all very friendly, too. This is a must stop for some good gifts and a delightful hour of fun. I am so glad our guide stopped here!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank ajdanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

What a wonderful and interesting stop on our Back Roads Tour (September 2017). Very historical, beautiful setting and a great family who own the place. Stephen and his family took us on a tour of the old working farm and we enjoyed a wonderful lunch with wine in the warm and inviting dining room (it had rained, very cold, so the fire was appreciated!). Excellent shopping for traditional Irish goods.
Worth a stop for sure. A bit of old Irish history.
Katie Moyer
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Spent a nite at Molly Gallivan's, eating great food, enjoying the owners.....then storytelling, and music. We all were included in this entertainment because of the sly way they had of getting info from us! Just delightful! Also visited the " still " where she made her Poteen. The landscape there is also breathtaking! A must experience for all travelers! Thank you folks! Sally, from Vermont.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank sllyreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stopped here with our tour on a very rainy day. We were greeted very warmly, and got to try a shot of poitin! The cottage is lovely, it really gave a sense of what life would have been like for Molly. The shop is very nice, everyone was very pleasant and quick to offer suggestions on which sweater looked best, in what color. We were able to get some beautiful wool sweaters that we ended up wearing the rest of the trip instead of our raincoats!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Nyki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

If you are visiting Ireland, going to Molly Gallivan's is a MUST! Just completed a 7-day tour of Ireland and this was definitely in the top 3 highlights of my trip. Stephen, the proprietor, was such a wonderful host, guide and storyteller. The walking tour of the farm and cottage was so informative and interesting. We walked away with a very good feel of how our ancestors lived. And the surrounding landscape was breathtaking! You could see the love that Stephen has for Irish culture and for sharing that with others. They also have a lovely shop with some of the best merchandise and absolutely no pressure to buy. Thank you, Stephen, for a wonderful experience and memory of Ireland!!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews