We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perfect holiday getaway which gave us...”

Review of Casa Verde

terrace in the evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
terrace in the evening
sun terrace and plunge pool Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
terrace in the evening
sun terrace and plunge pool
Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Super kitchen with all mod cons including ice cream maker!
living room with log burner
Looking out from the terrace to the rio
Sanlucar looking towards Portugal
Promenade at riverside
Night-time on the Rio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sanlucar de Guadiana, Province of Huelva, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robin G
Sheringham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect holiday getaway which gave us all time and space to relax and enjoy the wonderful location.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This beautiful house is set in a typical Spanish village with stunning views overlooking the River Guadiana. Our favourite spot was sitting on the shaded terrace looking out over the river, especially picturesque at night, just chilling with a book and a drink. The house is incredibly stylish, spacious and perfect for a family of 5 with 3 teenage girls who each had their own room. If you are looking for a quiet holiday away from the usual crowded spots this ticks all the boxes and more. Wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Gorgeous well equiped villa in beautiful unspoilt area of Spain. A quick boat ride across the Guadiana river takes you to Portugal. Wonderful bird life and cooling breezes off the river make this the most fantastically relaxing place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane R
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated house; a perfect village retreat providing a relaxing glimpse of stress free life by the river.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in a beautiful fisherman’s cottage in North Norfolk for a chilly weekend last November and had the great pleasure of meeting Val, the owner of Casa Verde. Her attention to detail is second to none, and we had high expectations of her house in Spain. We were not disappointed, far from it, Casa Verde blew us away!
We flew into Faro from Leeds Bradford, hired two cars and drove to our Spanish retreat, Sanlucar de Gaudiana, a hassle free drive of just over an hour and arriving at midnight! Jak was there to welcome us with a pre-arranged supper, this in addition to the complimentary wine, olives, oranges, coffee and cake which Val provides for her guests.
Casa Verde is in a perfect position in the village, just a short walk (probably about 50 yards) up a steep narrow street just off the river front where we parked our cars free for the week. The house is large and well set out with two beautifully spacious bedrooms, a single bedroom we called ‘the cave’ and an exciting twin bedroom hidden away in the roof and accessed via stone steps from the outside courtyard, which is filled with huge plants and twinkly lights. It was a great adventure discovering our bedrooms late at night.
With Jak’s help and advice we soon discovered the local bakery and shop and the couple of bars in Sanlucar. We hopped over to Portugal on the river ferry and bought fruit & veg & fresh meat from the market on Saturday morning (we were too late for fish). The kitchen is a pleasure to cook in and everything we needed was there, we all had a go at juicing the oranges for breakfast. The traditional Spanish crockery really made us feel we were in our Spanish home from home.
The best part of Casa Verde for us was the dining area and covered terrace which is at the rear of the property and looks out across the Guadiana river to Alcoutim village, Portugal. Many an evening we lit the lanterns, enjoyed our meal together and relaxed back on the sofas and soaked in the beautiful view, the comings and goings of the boats on the river and the magical, musical mix of local village life below.
Quite bizarrely there happens to be a zip-wire in Sanlucar which glides you from the hills above the village across the river and into Portugal – spanning two countries and differing time zones! Of course we all did it – a truly exhilarating and unique experience.
Jak was invaluable in her local knowledge and encouragement to take charge of the inflatable dinghy which we could use to cross the river. She also arranged for us to join her friends on their boat. We had a wonderful day exploring further up river, seeing Golden Orioles and turtles and having a great time on the water.
We planned to visit Seville during our week but were content to stay local and enjoy walks along the river and into the hills, enjoying the bird life and wild flowers of the countryside and relaxing by the beach area and in the friendly bars. Food and drink was good value; bottled beer 1euro! We felt we were part of village and river life for a short time.
Casa Verde in Sanlucar de Guidiana is a very special place, I want to keep it secret so we can return many times, preserving it’s quiet, relaxing and unspoilt charm - a luxurious stay in a perfect place. Thank you Val, keep it safe for us to enjoy another wonderful holiday as your guests at Casa Verde! Diane & Stuart, Jen & Rob, Patrick & Sara from Selby & Leeds, Yorkshire. 6th June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the house and the good quality and attention to detail of everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and spacious in a great location”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Verde for a week in October and had very good weather. We found the property very comfortable with an excellent layout of bedrooms , two bathrooms and lots of living spaces.We loved the area - hidden Andalucia ! The house is a splendid base from which to explore. We spent many happy hours watching the boats go by on the river below from our elevated outside terrace where we also barbequed fresh fish we'd bought from the local market. We are going to come again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open air terrace
Liked least: Going home !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing