We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical memories to be made here”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Habaraduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GillsScot...
Gillingham, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical memories to be made here”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed for 10 days out of season, late October...but no worries. If you want to see some of the real Sri Lanka, And stay in a place where you are warmly welcomed, where nothing is too much for any of the happy, friendly staff who are there when you need them, but give you the space to relax and enjoy the wonderful villa and grounds...this is the place. The Vila is situated a short walk from habaraduwa ....or take a tuk tuk, you will meet wild life and friendly local villagers....and hardly any tourists. We were there with our family to celebrate 30 years of marriage...and the villa management arranged fireworks, Sri Lankan dancers, fire eaters, and laid on a fantastic buffet for our special day, the villa had been decorated wow! there is only one criticism, but understand as I write this the pool is being totally renovated. THANKYOU everyone at Pooja kanda, but special thanks to Loku, Sarangdu, and Sunil for making our stay soooo special.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The staff, food, grounds, customer care, and facilities at the villa
Liked least: The condition of the pool.....now being renovated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim W
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing but the best at Pooja Kanda – The Great Gatsby would be proud!”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Standing on top of the hill towering over its neighbours, Pooja Kanda truly is an impressive sight as you come up to the entrance!

We were greeted by the Villa Manager Rob, an engaging chap with a long history in the region, who was more than happy to take us through all of the facilities of this glorious mansion in a whirlwind tour showcasing the amazing style and decadence that he has somehow managed to keep looking beautiful and fresh throughout the property.

The bold white pillars, the open-space living, lounge and dining area design, the carefully-chosen artworks and furnishings, as well as the endless side rooms with different spaces to be discovered everywhere for you to spend time in and relax are all truly remarkable and give the residence almost its own personality. We ate like kings throughout our stay (best chicken curry you can find in Sri Lanka!), and were always served with a smile by the attentive staff.

Sri Lanka is fast becoming known for hidden gems like this, and I daresay Pooja Kanda is one of the prime examples of villas done well in the entire country. I only wish we had more time there! Will definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony overlooking the treetops
Liked least: The pool was under renovation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActionAl
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Colonial Villa Dream Come True”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Pooja Kanda is precisely the villa experience I was hoping to have in Sri Lanka.

The villa oozes a modern Sri Lankan colonial style. It fuses beautiful period details and traditional artwork with modern furniture and every comfort you need to relax in style.

The building itself has nooks and crannies, private terraces as well as an office and media room. This meant we could all find our own space to send emails, read or simply unwind in solitude. I loved this.

The other highlight is Pooja Kanda's position atop a small hill. We had a lovely breeze flowing through the villa every day so we didn't have to retreat to air conditioning. This was exactly the colonial villa experience we were hoping for!

Thank you Rob and Loku for your warm hospitality and travel advice. You've helped us get even more out of our Sri Lankan adventure :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara O
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were welcomed by the team of friendly staff who explained everything about the villa on arrival. The villa has a colonial style and look with an open verandah around the villa allowing the breeze to flow through the villa all day. The furnishings are a mix of antiques and one off pieces that add to the charm. The chef was amazing and the menu had a mix of Sri Lankan favourites and western dishes. The staff purchased meals based on our requirements. Dinner was served in the main dining room which actually opens up over the living room. We actually didn't eat out at all and stayed in for all meals. Why wouldn't you? I mean if you have a personal chef looking after you then there is no point eating out at all! The bedrooms are comfortable with ensuite bathrooms and aircon. I think this villa is a great option for those who want to experience Sri Lanka in style.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luma M
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect first trip to Sri Lanka, We never wanted to leave this villa!”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I arranged a surprise trip for my husband's 30th birthday for a group of 10, and this villa exceeded our expectations. Booking and arranging everything through Elite Havens was easy and the team was very helpful. The villa staff was eager to help with everything from arranging transfers, dinner bookings, even a special dance and dinner party for the first night we got there. The staff is really want made our stay 10/10. They were beyond friendly, sweet, and accommodating. They made sure we had everything we needed at all times. Thank you Loku and Sunil! We will def. be back again! xx

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff!
Liked least: Pool was a tad bit dirty.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
We're extremely pleased that you have chosen Villa Pooja Kanda for your first trip to Sri Lanka, and that we were able to give you a perfect stay. On behalf of Loku, Sunil and the rest of the team, we look forward to celebrating your next birthday again with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing