We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wendy Whiteley's Secret Garden
Save
Review Highlights
Quite amazing and incredibly imaginative

The really interesting aspect of these amazingly created ”gardens within gardens” is that they... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Greatblackhawk
,
Cobham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beautiful!

This is definitely one of the best public garden spaces I've visited. And the back story makes it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
PrincessCrazyPants
via mobile
Read all 343 reviews
  
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
272
65
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
65
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender bay past luna park tables and chairs winding paths hidden gem old railway kirribilli club an oasis short walk milson's point hand rails state government hidden away bush turkeys railway line tranquil place few stairs
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Find the time to escape to this little corner of paradise tucked away in Milson's Point/Lavender Bay. It's not far to walk from Milson's Pt station. I visited on a weekday and it was so quiet and calming. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank MumTheOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

I have seen this place on TV and stumbled on it on a walk. lots of little path ways leading to nice spots with chair where you can sit and get some piece in the grind of the city. good spot to take 20 minutes to relax and gather your thought, and look at the plants as well

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank John J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I read about Wendy and her commitment to this garden she has created for the community. It is beautiful with native plants, trees, and sculptures. There is such a feeling of peace as you sit there and enjoy the views. Definitely worth the climb.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank artistJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Being school holidays, I took my two grand daughters (aged 8 and 5) to visit Wendy’s Secret Garden. From North Sydney Station it’s not far at all and quite a pleasant walk. I told the girls the history behind the garden as it’s quite an inspiring and amazing story. There are no signs to point us towards the Garden and none to indicate we had actually reached the Garden, I guess hence it’s called ‘secret’! The Garden didn’t disappoint as there’s much to be admired and many places to stop and enjoy the plants and the view.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Only superlatives can describe this garden. What an enormous job to turn an overgrown slope behind the old railway lines to a throbbing delight.
In this enchanted landscape, you almost expect the elves to emerge from the bushes, but instead of the hobbits, only a brush turkey is looking at you, waiting for you to share your sandwich with him. Though the garden is a built one, but so much in harmony with nature, that only some benches, gorgeous flowers, and a few beautiful statues signal the human intervention. This garden is in Lavander Bay and just a short walk from the Harbor Bridge. The waves of the bay are blabbing at the end of the land, and boats and ships are rocking on the blue water, giving a picture perfect background.
This garden reminds me of Stoney range Botanic Garden in Dee Why, where a whole community turned a useless piece of land into a beautiful botanic garden. Wendy Witeney with the help of other people, gave to us, people of Sydney a very precious gift. A place to relax, to meditate, to have an intimate picnic, to join to nature and enjoy the Harbour view, while the kookaburra is laughing happily on one of the benches. What pure happiness to walk up and down on the winding path with stairs, to find new and more delight at every turn. Sometimes there is a statue; somewhere else is an exotic flower or a view that just opens in front of us. The person who saw this garden in a prophetic dream was the master of luminous secrets.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank stinkwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews