We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
51
9
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
9
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea lord and lady dressing room coast to coast next morning thoroughly enjoyed our stay stanhope moors guests grouse prosecco kettle
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Arrived here cold and wet after the second day of the Coast to Coast bike ride. Straight away Liz made us feel at home by taking care of wet jackets and getting the kettle on! Hard to believe we were the only guests that night and we were made to feel like Lord and Lady of the Manor dining in such elegant and comfortable surrounds. The food and wine were of the highest quality and excellent value for money. Shame to leave the next morning but definitely a place to return. Would recommend as a place to hire for family/friends get together. Many thanks Liz and Derek.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoKens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Horsley Hall is a spectacular country house in a lovely setting. We stayed at Horsley Hall while cycling the Coast-to-Coast. After a day climbing Hartside, we were greeted with tea and fruitcake - just what was needed. After a hot shower, were were then treated to a great evening meal and slept very well indeed. Next morning, a full English breakfast set us up superbly for the final day of the ride.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't recommend enough.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

It's hard to find words fine enough to describe this wonderful location. We were lucky to spend a great week with our walking friends in this fabulous place. We rented it on a self catering basis, and found it furnished to a very high standard, with a very well equipped commercial kitchen. All bedrooms had lovely views, and were extremely comfortable, with crisp bedlinen and lovely fluffy towels. Hot water was never in short supply, and was most welcome for a refreshing shower after a long walk in the beautiful surrounding countryside. Angela and Liz proved very welcoming, and accommodating, and made our stay very enjoyable. Stanhope is a nice small town, offering pubs, independent butchers and greengrocers (both very good), a Co-op, and chemist, amongst other things, and is only a short drive away.

Room tip: All rooms are more than acceptable. Tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill0wen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

For a mother's day treat our children sent us for afternoon tea and bubbles in the pod. Wow it was spectacular, different and glorious. The pod was a great idea, the food lovely helped down with a couple glasses of bubbly. Setting peaceful and beautiful exactly what u need to 're charge those batteries. The hosts lovely and friendly couldn't want for more what a special present. Highly reccomended

Room tip: The whole place is truly georgeous you won't be dissapointed
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We only had a meal in the restaurant.
The hosts welcomed us in to a gorgeous pre dining room served us drinks and looked after us warmly. Chef came out and advised on what to eat. She chose well,The three courses we had were lovely. The venue however is the star of the show. A building of outstanding history and elegance.The three of us sat and enjoyed coffee. A real Gem in outer Stanhope. Thanks for a lovely meal and evening.

Room tip: This hotel might not see 20 passing cars a day so all rooms will be quiet
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dunelm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews