We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and rest between 2 days on the Moors.”
Review of Horsley Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastgate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Horsley Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Eastgate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Large comfortable bedroom on the second floor with a very comfortable bed, a dressing room and a bathroom.Very peaceful.
Excellent dinner for 10 in the main dining rooms. Seasonal Grouse, served perfectly cooked off the bone. Nice simple pate to start and a great cheeseboard. Perfect end to a great day.
The owners have been at the hotel for 20 years and have really stamped their feel on the hotel. It works.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maranoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Arrived here cold and wet after the second day of the Coast to Coast bike ride. Straight away Liz made us feel at home by taking care of wet jackets and getting the kettle on! Hard to believe we were the only guests that night and we were made to feel like Lord and Lady of the Manor dining in such elegant and comfortable surrounds. The food and wine were of the highest quality and excellent value for money. Shame to leave the next morning but definitely a place to return. Would recommend as a place to hire for family/friends get together. Many thanks Liz and Derek.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoKens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Horsley Hall is a spectacular country house in a lovely setting. We stayed at Horsley Hall while cycling the Coast-to-Coast. After a day climbing Hartside, we were greeted with tea and fruitcake - just what was needed. After a hot shower, were were then treated to a great evening meal and slept very well indeed. Next morning, a full English breakfast set us up superbly for the final day of the ride.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

It's hard to find words fine enough to describe this wonderful location. We were lucky to spend a great week with our walking friends in this fabulous place. We rented it on a self catering basis, and found it furnished to a very high standard, with a very well equipped commercial kitchen. All bedrooms had lovely views, and were extremely comfortable, with crisp bedlinen and lovely fluffy towels. Hot water was never in short supply, and was most welcome for a refreshing shower after a long walk in the beautiful surrounding countryside. Angela and Liz proved very welcoming, and accommodating, and made our stay very enjoyable. Stanhope is a nice small town, offering pubs, independent butchers and greengrocers (both very good), a Co-op, and chemist, amongst other things, and is only a short drive away.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than acceptable. Tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill0wen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

For a mother's day treat our children sent us for afternoon tea and bubbles in the pod. Wow it was spectacular, different and glorious. The pod was a great idea, the food lovely helped down with a couple glasses of bubbly. Setting peaceful and beautiful exactly what u need to 're charge those batteries. The hosts lovely and friendly couldn't want for more what a special present. Highly reccomended

Room Tip: The whole place is truly georgeous you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Horsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Hall

Address: Eastgate DL13 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Eastgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eastgate
Price Range: $156 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing