We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
51
9
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
9
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea refreshing shower dressing room coast to coast next morning thoroughly enjoyed our stay hot water stanhope hosts moors angela grouse
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

For a mother's day treat our children sent us for afternoon tea and bubbles in the pod. Wow it was spectacular, different and glorious. The pod was a great idea, the food lovely helped down with a couple glasses of bubbly. Setting peaceful and beautiful exactly what u need to 're charge those batteries. The hosts lovely and friendly couldn't want for more what a special present. Highly reccomended

Room Tip: The whole place is truly georgeous you won't be dissapointed
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We only had a meal in the restaurant.
The hosts welcomed us in to a gorgeous pre dining room served us drinks and looked after us warmly. Chef came out and advised on what to eat. She chose well,The three courses we had were lovely. The venue however is the star of the show. A building of outstanding history and elegance.The three of us sat and enjoyed coffee. A real Gem in outer Stanhope. Thanks for a lovely meal and evening.

Room Tip: This hotel might not see 20 passing cars a day so all rooms will be quiet
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dunelm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

THE most amazing meal out. Everything was beautifully cooked and hot. Lovely lounge area to enjoy pre-dinner drinks. Moving through to the dining room we were blown away by the beauty and elegance. We had a huge table for the 4 of us and there was only one other party of 4 dining at the same time. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. Every course looked wonderful as well as tasting fantastic. Lots of side dishes of different potato dishes and several different veg platters. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here - only there for an evening meal
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon at horsley hall. Lucky setting and very welcoming owner. The pod is a great idea especially as we had a lovely clear sunny day. Thanks again, it was lovely. I had my little girl there and she was made to feel very welcome too.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank sutie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The only down side was we only had time to stay for 1 night!
From our arrival, Liz welcomed us in and took is for a tour of the property and made us feel very welcome.
We sat in one of the very comfortable Chesterfield sofas, with some bubbly and soaked up the charming surroundings.
Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, bottled water, tea and coffee were complimentary with some delicious local biscuits.
Bath robes were also hanging up in the spacious hanging space and bathroom had some lovely essential supplies.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and come with a quirky charm and the tartan carpet throughout the hallway, large fireplaces and staircase really give this hotel a real country home feel.
The breakfast was cooked to order and was absolutely delicious, nothing was too much travel for the staff and they made us all feel well looked after.
Thank you to Liz and her team, we will be back to try afternoon tea in the pod overlooking that amazing view!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nugent-Lampoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews