We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
49
9
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
9
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tearefreshing showerdressing roomcoast to coastnext morningthoroughly enjoyed our stayhot waterstanhopehostsmoorsangelagrouse
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We only had a meal in the restaurant.
The hosts welcomed us in to a gorgeous pre dining room served us drinks and looked after us warmly. Chef came out and advised on what to eat. She chose well,The three courses we had were lovely. The venue however is the star of the show. A building of outstanding history and elegance.The three of us sat and enjoyed coffee. A real Gem in outer Stanhope. Thanks for a lovely meal and evening.

Room Tip: This hotel might not see 20 passing cars a day so all rooms will be quiet
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dunelm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

THE most amazing meal out. Everything was beautifully cooked and hot. Lovely lounge area to enjoy pre-dinner drinks. Moving through to the dining room we were blown away by the beauty and elegance. We had a huge table for the 4 of us and there was only one other party of 4 dining at the same time. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. Every course looked wonderful as well as tasting fantastic. Lots of side dishes of different potato dishes and several different veg platters. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here - only there for an evening meal
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon at horsley hall. Lucky setting and very welcoming owner. The pod is a great idea especially as we had a lovely clear sunny day. Thanks again, it was lovely. I had my little girl there and she was made to feel very welcome too.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank sutie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The only down side was we only had time to stay for 1 night!
From our arrival, Liz welcomed us in and took is for a tour of the property and made us feel very welcome.
We sat in one of the very comfortable Chesterfield sofas, with some bubbly and soaked up the charming surroundings.
Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, bottled water, tea and coffee were complimentary with some delicious local biscuits.
Bath robes were also hanging up in the spacious hanging space and bathroom had some lovely essential supplies.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and come with a quirky charm and the tartan carpet throughout the hallway, large fireplaces and staircase really give this hotel a real country home feel.
The breakfast was cooked to order and was absolutely delicious, nothing was too much travel for the staff and they made us all feel well looked after.
Thank you to Liz and her team, we will be back to try afternoon tea in the pod overlooking that amazing view!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nugent-Lampoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

After a trip across the North Pennies moors we arrived at Horsley Hall an immaculate building set in equally well kept grounds. The interior is just well kept and congratulations must be given to the housekeeping staff the whole place is spotless.
The same must be said for the friendly welcome and service and good English menu.
The meal was first class cooked with a deft touch with little twists on old favourites.
You cannot help but see the amount of love and enthusiasm that is put into the building and cooking by the proprietors (including freshly dug and picked home grown vegetables) making it a wonderful place to stay and eat. We highly recommend this establishment to anyone wishing to stay or eat in a little bit of very well kept old English history.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews