We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
149
22
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
22
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lae cottages sand bar games room hummingbird cottage prickly bay marina swallow cottage living area home away from home coconut water hobie cat rum punch grand anse self catering unpretentious place lovely small bar bedroom apartment four nights
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Tim Brathwaite and team run what is one of the best self catering sites we have ever visited (and we've tried a good few around the world) It has the magic combination of a beautiful location, comfortable, roomy accommodation, and great staff. Add in four walkable restaurants (from inexpensive to "how much??") and you're all set for a great holiday on this lovely island.

We haven't put in all the details about other facilities on and near LAE - other contributors have already done that (so just read and book)

This was our second visit to LAE Cottages and they're still the best. We can't wait for the next idyllic Grenadian visit.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Surrey_Travellers_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a very well-run complex in a wonderfully quiet and beautiful location. The staff is extremely accomodating and friendly. We were assisted with booking excursions and taxis and had the most wonderful meals prepared by our amazing housekeeper. Will most definitely return!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 2happy_travels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The beach is lovely, the rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The grounds are well kept, and there is always a security patrolmen on the grounds throughout the night.
Our housekeeper, Eva, made the trip, and acted as a cultural adviser of sorts. She also went grocery shopping for us to show/make us a local dish of our choice, and taught us how to make passion fruit juice and how to smash a coconut, etc. We also took out a couple of their kayaks for the day and paddled around the bay.
We rented a car for the week, so can't really comment on taxi fares, but everything is close. We toured the entire island and were easily able to return for supper each evening.
Would return in a heartbeat and absolutely recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pratly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Caribbean travelers who like a beachside property where they can make some of their own meals will be happy at Lance aux Epines Cottages. The kitchens are well-stocked with equipment (I always bring my own, sharp knives) and it's just a short drive to the IGA in the Spiceland Mall, where you can supplement your finds from the market. The beach is small, compared to the large Grand Anse beach, but pretty, quiet, and comfortable—we couldn't tear ourselves away to experience the other beaches. It's just a few minutes walk down the beach to the Calabash Hotel, and its super beachside bar/café and superior restaurant. We stayed in one cottage and two apartments, working around a Grenadine sail, and I particularly recommend the cottages because they are open (albeit screened) on the beach side and very pleasant to sit in 24/7. In addition, there are plenty of beach chairs, picnic tables, and hammocks for sitting outside. The staff is efficient and cheerful, and ready to help when needed. For us, that meant arranging transport to restaurants and sights. Will definitely return.

Room tip: Look at the map of the property and choose one of the five cottages closest to the beach, farthest from the road—not because there is any road noise, but just to enjoy the water noise.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan T, Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Greetings,

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are particularly proud of our staff so thanks for noticing.

There are several new places to eat in Lande Aux Epines, just a short walk from the Cottages. They're worth checking out if you want a quick bite to eat. We also have some new stand up paddle boards to go along with our kayaks, for those who enjoy getting out onto the water. In the future, there will be someone available to take guests who don't sail out on the Hobie Cat, for a cruise around the bay.

We hope to see you again soon,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My friend and I truly enjoyed Lance aux Epines cottages. Tim and the staff were welcoming. David was a very reliable driver who took us to restaurants, on a tour of the island, and to and from the airport. We enjoyed several days' relaxation on their beach and the ability to cook some of our own meals which cut down on the cost of our vacation and gave us some welcome flexibility. Our final day, Sunday the 11th, they had a pig roast on the beach rather than the usual BBQ. It was fun to see so many local people mingling with tourists, others staying at the cottages and some who came in from boats in the harbor. We will most likely return.

Room tip: If you have an option avoid one of the downstairs apartments. We had to stay in one the last night because others were arriving to stay in our cottage. You can hear people overhead in the 2d floor apt, and we had "trompers" running around up there to all hours for some reason.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYscholar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews