We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
89
8
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
8
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private home view suite every morning bbc beach absolute luxury prickly bay grand anse beach nikki kayak island conch reef georges nutmeg st calabash
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Sadly we’ve had a disappointing experience at this Hotel. The location is great and we were so looking forward to our stay there. In our opinion they should first finish all of the renovation and “clean ups” before taking guests again.
Even people living on Grenada told us that they thought the hotel is closed at the moment.
We left after two nights to stay somewhere else.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank JayJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your short time with us. As you know on the day of your arrival there was a storm and the 'clean up' was from the storm. We sent you two messages asking you to let us know what time you would arrive but received no response until you contacted us at 9am on the day of arrival to let us know that you would be arriving within half an hour! We allowed you complimentary early check in and a bottle of champagne welcome to help you recover from your sailing trip (that you also did not enjoy). On check in, after I had personally shown you around, you told me that you had planned to explore the Island but that the property was so beautiful that you did not want to leave it. I understand that you told Chef that you had been offered an 'amazing' rate from another local hotel. Of course you could not have been enjoying our property enough otherwise you would not have considered moving, but we do feel that you wanted us to discount our rates and we were not willing to do that. I hope you enjoyed your 2 nights at the other hotel and that you had a safe journey back to Germany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

My partner and I had the most fantastic couple of weeks staying at this superlative little jewel, set away from the main tourist areas on the South Coast. We stayed in the Reef View Suite, waking up every morning to the most marvellous views over the bay, and feeling very private and exclusive at the top of the hotel. We arrived late in the evening, and were collected by Peter at the airport. As it was too late for the restaurant, a light cold supper had been thoughtfully left out for us in our room - just another of the lovely little touches which we were to discover. The staff were all amazing - beautifully attentive to every need, whilst being totally unobtrusive and with exactly the right level of friendliness and chat. As it was a quiet time of year, we were asked whether we were eating in the restaurant in the evening - and it was clear that we were welcome to do so or not, and whether there was anything special we would care for to get fresh ingredients if necessary. We did so on many evenings - and the food was superb - I will dream about the coconut prawns for years.
It is worth hiring a car (arranged for us by the lovely ladies) as this hotel is quite out of the way - however it is very accessible. We would discover yet another untouched beach before breakfast each morning within a short drive, and then come back for a late breakfast (and chat with the garrulous parrots) and get ready for the day. As you are out of the main towns, but within easy reach of main roads, it is a perfect base from which to explore the island, which we did steadily over several days. There are also several other nice bars and restaurants within an easy drive for a bit of variety.
If you are looking for a small bit of absolute luxury, this is the perfect place. If you want screaming kids, lager louts and loud nightlife, you are better elsewhere.
Looking forwards to returning in the near future - the only place that we've been to that I could happily return again and again to.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better views, but are windier
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Martin, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I had to laugh at your description of the 'garrulous parrots', it is exactly right! We have now rescued another 2 Amazon parrots (called Laurel and Hardy) and they have become the official 'greeting' team. Their current trick is to mimic a cell phone ring tone (any cell phone ring tone) and then burst into laughter when guests reach for their cell phone! Little hooligans... but as you know they are great fun, even more so after a glass of rum punch!
Anyway, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again over the Winter to escape the cold. Best wishes, Nikki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I know other people have said it but this Hotel is amazing. Super luxury, super discreet, so welcoming and relaxing. They say 'welcome home', we wish! First impressions were brilliant and it carried on from there. The room was enormous and even the balcony was bigger than the hotel room in New York (where we stayed the night before our flight). The balcony had 2 sunbeds so you didnt have to move if you didnt want to but we love Grenada and we hauled ourselves out to visit our favorite places. The hotel has a shuttle 'bus' but it is really a fancy car with plush white leather interiors and DVD seat backs! We werent charged for any of our shuttle rides and they took us wherever we wanted to go. The room had a coffee maker and fresh coffee and fresh milk in the fridge and Bvlgari toiletries and the crisp white cotton sheets and the most comfy bed we have ever slept it. Enormous! You are on a hill so you have good breezes and we slept with the doors wide open to hear the waves whilst we were in bed. There are 2 pools but only a few rooms so we always had the pool to ourselves. We loved the hammock on the beach and the gardens and the water lillies. Thank you to the amazing staff for your service and making this our best ever vacation.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank jennyjohnson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility and especially pleased that you mentioned the beds. As you say they are enormous (super king sized at 6 foot x 6 foot 3) and it was quite an undertaking to import them all from Europe but we think it was worth it, especially when a lovely guest such as yourself appreciates them. Thank you again for choosing us for your vacation and for taking the time to write a review. Best wishes, Nikki, Jezell, Peter and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Excellent location just 2 miles from SGU campus and 2 mins walk to the bus stop. Very nice large rooms that have everything you could need and friendly professional staff. We loved it here and will definitely be back. Loved the pool, the peace and quiet, the gardens, the beach and the informal elegance of the place. There is such a special ambience at this small hotel, you cant help feeling relaxed and carefree. A place of magic just a short distance from the campus and many restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large balcony with sun beds on it, you wont need to move if you dont want to.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lyndamatt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate it and are so pleased that you managed to relax during your busy trip. We always love to have friends and family of SGU with us, we have 2 Doctors in the family and know the pressures of Medical and Veterinary School so are happy to provide a haven from the pressure. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter again soon. Best wishes, Nikki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Visited recently for dinner with family on the Island and wow what can I say . Food was fabulous and staff very friendly and helpful . Views from the place are stunning ! I normally stay in apartments when visiting but next time I'll stay here ! Newly renovated restaurant due to open later in year I was told and certainly if the Cave is anything to go by then will be a revisit for sure ! Well done a truly hidden gem in more ways than 1 . Its a bit of a drive but well worth it for the food and views

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. As you saw we are busy extending the restaurant and adding another dining deck with fantastic views. It will be available to our Residents in a couple of months and open to non-residents from the 1st December. Thank you for mentioning our stunning views, we are situated on a privately owned peninsula so there is no passing traffic and our guests enjoy the privacy. We are less than half a mile from Prickly Bay and The Calabash though and just 15 minutes from the airport, Grand Anse and 2 miles from SGU. I know you came with friends but we also are happy to collect visitors from other hotels if they want to come over for dinner. We look forward to having you back next time you are on Island. Best wishes, Nikki, Charlie, Jezell, Peter and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews