We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveller rating
500
484
229
120
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
484
229
120
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea afternoon tea no lift water wheel water meadows old mill superior room overlooking the river third floor bar area evening meal travelzoo offer scones lovely location groupon deal glass of prosecco main building
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel, beautiful views. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was spacious and had everything we needed. Had dinner and breakfast there which were both delicious and well presented will defiantly come back again next time.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anneka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi Anneka J: Thank you for taking the time to leave your review regarding your stay with us at The Mill Hotel Sudbury, I really appreciate your positive comments regarding our team, that are great ambassadors of our business.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us!

Kind Regards,


Jake Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We come here because it’s a beautiful spot not because it has great food of late. We only eat from the bar but recently, over the last year the food and service has been very hit and miss. Today the classic cream tea was ok but not outstanding. The savoury scones were not very cheesy as described in the menu and the onion jam was not great. But the staff are nice and friendly so that’s good. Just a word about the state of the disabled toilet in the ladies behind the bar, it was in a pretty disgusting state ( the sanitary bin)! And the lock is broken. A little bit of TLC and a good clean and regular inspections would really help. As I said it’s a great location with beautiful views but would be fantastic if the little details could be attended to to make it worthy of a higher score.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SarahN3274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Good morning SarahN3274: Thank you for taking the time to leave your very constructive review - as you know from previous visits this is absolutely not our standard, and I value you taking the time to let me know as I will ensure these points are promptly addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill Hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,


Jake Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

When you need to be in Sudbury, this is certainly a charming place to stay. It’s within a 10 minute walk from the centre of Sudbury, yet at the same time on the outskirt of town, with beautiful views over the pastures and meadows that surround it. The hotel is situated in an old water-mill, the cogwheel is now incorporated in the interior of the house, you can see it turning from within the bar. The staff is friendly, there is a cosy restaurant with surprisingly good food, the breakfast is fine, the rooms are adequately sized, and the beds are fine with clean and crisp linen.

But in my opinion it doesn’t live up to the claimed 4 stars. To reach your room, you have to climb several steep staircases or pass through endless small corridors, with one (fire)door after another, unexpected curves and steps up or down, the building is a maze and one wonders how older or disabled guests can handle this. In the bar ceilings are so low that a slightly taller person can only walk with a stoop underneath. The décor of the rooms is a bit outdated. There’s hardly any storage-facility, just an open cupboard where most of the shelfs are occupied by all kinds of utensils (iron and board, hairdryer, etc.), the small writing-desk is totally covered with brochures, phone, water-cooker, tea-trays, bottles of water and heaps of sweets, peanuts and candy-bars. No mini-bar, no safe. My small bathroom had a reasonably modern walk-in shower, but only one hook on the door to hang your wet towels on, and such poor lighting (just one spot above the shower) that I had to shave before the mirror in the shadow.

There’s also some room for improvement of the service. As I said, the staff is very friendly but at times a bit too jovial and familiar. In the bar and on the outside terrace drinks are not brought to your table, but you have to balance yourself with trays through the many local weekend-guests and their dogs, the latter present in remarkable quantities.

All in all: charming and adequate, with a friendly staff and on a good location, but 4 stars seems slightly overrated.

Room Tip: To avoid the many staircases and long corridors: ask for a room on the ground-floor and in the main building.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Good morning Johannes1000: Thank you for your review highlighting both positives and negatives of your stay with us at The Mill Hotel, Sudbury. I appreciate and value your comments, with some of the amenities you have mentioned being available in our more superior rooms. The features, and walk ways of the hotel are of course due to the age and history related to the venue, so although we are very proud to have the honour of guiding the hotel through this period of its history - it does come alongside the fact we are operating a beautiful hotel within the facility of an old flour mill.

I hope with your recommended notes of a ground floor room, of which superior rooms are also available we could have the opportunity to showcase the Mill Hotel as an AA 4* Hotel in more light for you.

Kind Regards,


Jake Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Found an offer through Travelzoo for this hotel for night including 2 course evening meal to take with friends. we were put at our ease bby reception staff as soon as we arrived, lovely rooms with a view over river and meadows. All hotel staff polite & helpful, food outstanding in a restaurant in the original part of mill. Town only 5mins stroll, lots of very old buildings, but also ideal for those who love walking.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Good morning Sue F: Thank you for sharing your 5* review with us for The Mill Hotel, we have a great reception team, and I am happy to hear they were on hand to look after you on check in. Your feedback regarding our food and beverage teams is greatly appreciated and we look forward to extending a warm return for you in the future,

Kind Regards,

Jake Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We live locally to the Mill so we pop in quite often for drinks and food and meet up with friends. The location is brilliant for long walks beforehand, on the meadows that the Mill is situated on. The bar is dog friendly too and they have nice log fires in the winter. The bar itself has the old working water mill behind glass and lit up as a feature. The bar food is good and the sandwiches are huge. The staff are nice and friendly, particularly Anthony who it is always a pleasure to see. He is very attentive and welcoming and really goes the extra mile to see that you have everything you need. We always look forward to seeing him and probably will, this very lunch time!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themillhotel, General Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Good morning caroline s: Thank you for taking the to share your review, and specifically to highlight the dedication and service of Anthony, Ant is a fantastic member of our team and a true benchmark to service, I am thrilled to hear that the Mill Hotel is your venue of choice when looking for somewhere to dine and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Kind Regards,

Jake Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews