We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing hidden gem

Visited here last week while on holiday in Wales and found it on a leaflet i was really impressed... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2018
mandy340
,
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Wow

Wow is a perfect word for this little hidden gem. We visited on what turned out to be a lovely... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2018
rew2000
,
North Wales, United Kingdom
Read all 35 reviews
  
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
26
7
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
7
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely house guided tour scones personal tour little tea room open to the public well worth a visit family home on display sunny day sandra langford armour doorstep century mummy margaret
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We were very impressed with the house and gardens and the personal guided tour made for an enjoyable couple of hours whilst on holiday.Would recommend to anybody to visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank carolinehjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Visit date 12.06.18 at 2pm. Paid for two adults to view the gardens and the house and two adults with two dogs to view the gardens. Pleasant experience at first which turned into a nightmare!!!!

Three aggressive dogs came charging at us anywhere was no one around to control them. After a few minutes a "man" came over and called the dogs and walked straight passed us without an apology or acknowledgment of the fear the dogs had caused. We had two very upsets dogs at this point, a 8 month old Labrador and a 12 year old Whippet.

As we thought the ordeal was over the three aggressive dogs came again and circled round us. They eventually left and by this point we were ready to leave as we felt it was unsafe for our dogs.

I was so frustrated at the fact that no one (staff) came to help. I then went to the front desk to explain to the woman what had happened and how we felt, she giggled and said that the man I was talking about was the lord of the manor; Lord Langford. I told her I didn't care and it was a disgrace and that it had ruined our trip, and as paying guests it was unacceptable. I made sure all the other guests were able to hear the disgusting behaviour of Lord Langford.

As we were walking back to our car, the woman from the desk came after us. Only to tell us the dogs were now locked away and we are able to continue with our tour, I stated it was too late!

We left feeling very disappointed, we will not be returning or recommending this place to anyone!

Also be aware of the dog mess Inthe gardens and the lack of parking spaces, Lord Langford should be more welcoming to his paying guests.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank SIBELPOPPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom R, Manager at Bodrhyddan Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hello Sibel

Apologies for the delayed response to your reviews. It was important that were we able to get the information from all parties before responding.

Firstly we would like to sincerely apologise for the experience you had at Bodrhyddan Hall last week. We hope that your dogs are both unaffected following the visit.

Whilst we are a dog friendly venue, as is stated on our website and across our social media platforms, Bodrhyddan is one of the few remaining Welsh stately homes in which the family still reside. Dalmatians have lived at Bodrhyddan since the 1960’s and are very much part of the family.

As Bodrhyddan is their home, Lord Langford occasionally needs to walk his dogs through his gardens during visiting hours. We express regret that the Dalmatians appeared unruly, however we can assure you that they have never caused any harm. In light of your visit, Lord Langford sends his kind regards and apologises for their boisterousness.

With regards to your comments about dog mess, our staff diligently patrol each morning but unfortunately some visitors do not clean up after themselves and some are occasionally missed. Just two days before your visit we had over 2,400 visitors for an event. As I’m sure you have seen on our Facebook page, many dogs were in attendance and there were no incidents on that occasion. It’s also possible some dog mess was left behind afterwards.

With respect, we feel our parking facilities are perfectly adequate for a destination of our size. We do have the entire length of the driveway which is approximately half a mile long and our signage does allow for turning and drop offs at the front door.

Ultimately, we are a very small brand, committed to sharing the culturally significant and beautiful home of Lord Langford and his family, for both two and four legged guests.

We hope that his response and apology puts your mind at ease. Please do feel free to contact us further via direct message. We will gladly refund your admission if you wish.

Regards
Bodrhyddan Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

A friendly house with excellent personal tour. Enjoyable to visiting friends who had not been before. Lovely garden.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank LizCol888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

I have driven past the entrance to Bodrhyddan Hall on countless occasions, and often wondered what was behind the stone walls.
Yesterday my family and I spent over two hours on a tour going around the Hall , our guide Sandra was excellent. The Hall has countless items of historical interest and even it's own mummy !! the gardens are also beautiful. The afternoon was made complete by a lovely cup of tea and scones which were a bargain.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Curiosity548114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

A beautiful hall with lovely gardens. Our guide Sandra was just fantastic, very informative and entertaining which made the whole tour very interesting. We found Sandra to be an absolute star in her suggestions and knowledge of the area. The gardens at Bodrhyddan are so beautiful maintained and an absolute joy to walk around.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews