We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Susie ”
Review of Lockwoods

Lockwoods
Ranked #8 of 96 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 45
Cuisines: European, Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: WINNER OR THE GOOD FOOD GUIDE'S BEST RESTAURANT IN THE NORTH EAST 2016 Located in the cathedral city of Ripon, Lockwoods provides a relaxed place to enjoy brunch, lunch or dinner. We're about classic, seasonal cooking and our modern European menu focuses on flavour not geography, but always maintains a strong nod towards our Yorkshire roots. We use the best seasonal produce that we can find and source much of our produce locally, particularly in the summer months, when we use the heritage garden 200 yards from our front door. We also have a wide range of local and European beers and a great wine list (currently 25 bins). We have received many accolades for our food, service and atmosphere, including "No 1 Family Run Restaurant in the UK" by The Times, recommended by The Independent, nominated for "Best Neighbourhood Restaurant" by Yorkshire Life, recognised in the Observer Food Awards, and listed in the Which Good Food Guides. We're a family run restaurant that has been established for over 10 years and happy to cater for groups, families, children, vegans, vegetarians.... and everyone in between. Put simply, we're a place that you'll want to come back to time and time again. AND IF IT'S NOT ON THE MENU - JUST ASK. Open Tuesday to Sunday Great value early bird menu 6-7 pm. Regular special events such as Call my Bluff Wine evening, Live jazz or our very popular tapas evening. Menus available for Children, Vegetarians and other dietary requirements, or just ask us and we'll cook it! Full disabled access throughout.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Took approx 2 hours to get served then some peoples food never arrived! By the time everyone was served those served first had finished eating. Service dreadful food not worth the wait it was well below my expectation. Both Toilets did not flush. No handle on wash basin. Cheap nasty loo rolls. I will not be going back !!!

2  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALockwood79, Owner at Lockwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Linda P, Thankyou for your review. We are obviously extremely disappointed and do apologise if we have not lived up to expectations. We would welcome some further response as we cannot pinpoint when you were in the restaurant. I nor any of my staff recognise any customers ever experiencing a two hour wait. Both toilets do flush and I've never had any other complaints about the toilet roll, its a standard ply toilet tissue. I will drop you a line directly to try and ascertain when you dined with us. Matthew Lockwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here with friends at the weekend. The food was nice and a reasonable selection on offer - we had a range from full English to eggs benedict and avocado on toast. Portions were not all that big, but the quality was good. Waiting staff were friendly.

Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALockwood79, Owner at Lockwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Maria, Really pleased you enjoyed your weekend treat. Thnakyou for your lovely review. Matthew Lockwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent hour spent here Good Friday reading my paper and taking some time out.
Everything was just right

Thank LuLuCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALockwood79, Owner at Lockwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi LuLu, Thank you and I'm glad we were able to provide you with a quiet haven to relax in. Matthew Lockwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We went to lockwoods last night for a meal with friends, we have been a few times before so I thought I would give my opinion. The restaurant was near to capacity so service was a little slow but not bad, and to be expected. The starters were fantastic, I had the tempura prawn and squid, with dip and salad. The prawns and squid were cooked beautifully, the dip was delicious, and the salad was hands down the tastiest side salad I have ever had. I highly recommend this dish. The ham hock is also amazing. I had a burger, the flavour was stunning, cooked exactly right, chips were stunning, just perfect. Deserts, words can not even begin to describe how nice these deserts are. I have had the creme brulee before which is simply astounding. So I tried the banana cake with pecan crunch, caramelised banana and caramel sauce. Wow. It just doesn't get any better than that. The restaurant is very nicely done out, nice atmosphere, my only criticism would be the tables are too close together, as with so many nice restaurants, trying to get as many covers in as they can, which I get that, but for me it feels too cramped, I would have liked a booth instead. I think restaurants need to rethink their seating plans in general as this is way too common. But that aside, great place, top notch food, reasonably priced for the quality, it is a little more expensive than average but so worth it. This is not an average quality place. Try it.

1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALockwood79, Owner at Lockwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Simon, Thanks for your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere on a busy evening. We really appreciate your kind words about the food and its great to know what you enjoyed were many of the new dishes on the menu. We are always changing our menus and trying to keep it as interesting as possible for all our regular customers. Thankyou again for your honest and very much appreciated review. Matthew Lockwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Me and my Mum had a lovely meal on Tuesday evening, despite being a Tuesday it was still busy with a great atmosphere.
It was nice and warm, food to a high standard. And we'll be visiting again shortly! :)
Thank you

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALockwood79, Owner at Lockwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Jessica, Thankyou for the review, really pleased you had a good evening and you found the food and atmosphere enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Matthew Lockwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lockwoods also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lockwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing