We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
40
32
14
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
32
14
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub baked camembert changed hands lasagna long weekend lovely meal pudding stay there again off the beaten track one night stay excellent value for money comfortable bed landlord menu cornwall chutney sauce
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Something has changed at the Weary Friar. We have been going there for years because the atmosphere and food are amazing. Sadly on this visit for Mothers Day lunch all was not well. My mum ordered roast lamb which was largely fat an very little meat, it was sent back and came out again pretty much the same as before. My partner had lasagne which was terrible. It was a 5cm square of reheated very dry pasta with very little meat covered in cheese and grilled, it cost £10.95 which was ridiculous. My dad also had roast lamb which had To be sent back because the plate was filled To the brim with gravy, only a minor issue but everything was drowning in the gravy. As 3 out of the four meas were not good we did get free desserts but I still cant get over paying nearly £11 for that lasagne. It was sad really becase the Weary Friar was our family place to go for celebratory meals, but not any more. To end on a positive the starters and puddings were all lovely and my main course of scampi was also very nice.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

As regular visitors to the Weary Friar, we were curious as to what might happen when it changed hands.

Almost year later and we're still visiting just as regularly.

A good varied menu with daily specials.

Very friendly Landlord and staff.

Excellent value for money.

Just what you want from your 'local'.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pickywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W, Owner at Weary Friar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you still enjoy your local pub!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely little pub with a very welcoming barman/waiter. We needed a quick bite to eat before a meeting in the village hall. We had the baked Camembert with chutney and bread and it was delicious. Only observation was the toilets were a little cold. Off the beaten track but def worth a visit if passing. Very good value for money as well

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 371elliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We visited the weary friar to meet up with family who live nearby. We had a really good meal, the staff were great and really friendly and chatty. As we had travelled to Cornwall it was great knowing that we good also stay at the pub in one of their rooms. The room was very comfortable and the shower lovely and warm and,joy of joys, a decent size bath towel!. The only thing lacking for me was a hairdryer which meant my head was slightly damp when we went down for breakfast. We had our breakfast in the bar area as the staff were preparing for a large function, but that was fine as we could sit near the fire and it was an extremely cold morning!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We had a great meal here. Nice atmos, good beer, open fire. Perfect. The staff were very attentive too. Definitely recommend the desserts they were really tasty. The food was reasonably priced. Would definitely return

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AbsolutelyFoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews