We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 161
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crooked Inn(Saltash)
USD 128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 83
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Crocadon Farm(Saltash)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
39
31
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
31
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbaked camembertquick lunchbirthday mealchanged handslasagnapuddingstay there againlovely mealoff the beaten trackone night stayexcellent value for moneylandlordmenuchutneycornwallveg
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Something has changed at the Weary Friar. We have been going there for years because the atmosphere and food are amazing. Sadly on this visit for Mothers Day lunch all was not well. My mum ordered roast lamb which was largely fat an very little meat, it was sent back and came out again pretty much the same as before. My partner had lasagne which was terrible. It was a 5cm square of reheated very dry pasta with very little meat covered in cheese and grilled, it cost £10.95 which was ridiculous. My dad also had roast lamb which had To be sent back because the plate was filled To the brim with gravy, only a minor issue but everything was drowning in the gravy. As 3 out of the four meas were not good we did get free desserts but I still cant get over paying nearly £11 for that lasagne. It was sad really becase the Weary Friar was our family place to go for celebratory meals, but not any more. To end on a positive the starters and puddings were all lovely and my main course of scampi was also very nice.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

As regular visitors to the Weary Friar, we were curious as to what might happen when it changed hands.

Almost year later and we're still visiting just as regularly.

A good varied menu with daily specials.

Very friendly Landlord and staff.

Excellent value for money.

Just what you want from your 'local'.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pickywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W, Owner at Weary Friar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you still enjoy your local pub!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely little pub with a very welcoming barman/waiter. We needed a quick bite to eat before a meeting in the village hall. We had the baked Camembert with chutney and bread and it was delicious. Only observation was the toilets were a little cold. Off the beaten track but def worth a visit if passing. Very good value for money as well

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We visited the weary friar to meet up with family who live nearby. We had a really good meal, the staff were great and really friendly and chatty. As we had travelled to Cornwall it was great knowing that we good also stay at the pub in one of their rooms. The room was very comfortable and the shower lovely and warm and,joy of joys, a decent size bath towel!. The only thing lacking for me was a hairdryer which meant my head was slightly damp when we went down for breakfast. We had our breakfast in the bar area as the staff were preparing for a large function, but that was fine as we could sit near the fire and it was an extremely cold morning!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We had a great meal here. Nice atmos, good beer, open fire. Perfect. The staff were very attentive too. Definitely recommend the desserts they were really tasty. The food was reasonably priced. Would definitely return

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AbsolutelyFoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews