We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Mellion International Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Group booking for a golf weekend, the good bits rooms were comfortable, clean, and acceptable for a weekend. The restaurant and standard of food was very nice although choice was limited and the service indifferent.
The golf course was in my opinion in a poor condition compared to my local club only an hour away. Excessive amounts of sand on the fairways and very wet area's which surprised me because it has not been very wet in the region. The resort is isolated and they take advantage of this with excessive bar prices for a poor quality choice of draft beers. The corridors and the whole resort is drab with no artwork or pictures to brighten up the place. Disappointing resort that is below par on and off the course.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kersys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at St Mellion International Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kersys

Good afternoon, thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at St Mellion Resort. It is great to see that you enjoyed some elements of your stay but clearly we have some work to do in other areas.

With respect to the courses we do spend significant investment on the courses throughout the year and our courses are actually some of the quickest draining courses in the area. Whilst it may feel that it has not been very wet in the region you are correct that there have not been many wet days. However the wet days have been exceptionally wet and it is heavy deluges that do the damage to the course.

Your comments regarding our beers have been noted and we are pleased to say that this is something that has already changed as our bars were refurbished with a new range of product installed in the last week of November.

We hope, in time that you will make a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Graham Hole
Resort Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We were looking forward to a much needed rest and the leisure complex,golf and restaurants and bars appealed.
Unfortunately, the quilt in our room had numerous brown stains as per the photos.
The management did not respond when informed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at St Mellion International Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Virginia M

Good afternoon, I would like to apologise for the fact that your stay at the Resort did not meet your expectations. I would also like to apologise for the condition in which you found your quilt. This is not acceptable and your feedback has already been provided to our Housekeeping Manager for a review of our room checking procedures.

In your feedback that you provided to us directly following your stay you say that you were forced to stay up all night and got no sleep which is disappointing for us to hear as we have staff who are available 24 hours a day who could have easily resolved the matter for you and allowed you to get a good nights sleep. However the line from your review that states the management failed to respond does surprise me a little as I actually responded to you personally on the 9th October. I will send you a follow up to my earlier email in order that we can bring this matter to an amicable resolution.

Kind regards

Graham Hole
Resort Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We were at St Mellion for a 21st Birthday celebration. This was held in the Niklaus Suite, which is a posh name for a rather uninspiring room with lists of golfers on the wall, and nothing else in the way of embellishment.
The tables had been laid with black cloths, which one could hardly call festive, and no decorations had been added to the tables in the form of streamers or balloons.
This was supposed to be an important birthday party for a 21 year old young lady, but was conducted in a room fit only for a board meeting.
Does St Mellion have no events organiser/ manager for this sort of gathering ?
A really lacklustre performance.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We booked this as a group of Four as we had been in Plymouth the previous night out so we wanted to play Golf while our Wifes relaxed in the "Spa".
The deal we had was very good - it was £129.00 per room, which included a three course Sunday Lunch and Drink, with a superior room and use of the facilities.
The Negatives -
Golf: We played the Kernow course and there were just too many people playing. We played as a two ball but a Society had gone off earlier and we had to wait to start every hole, and sometimes wait to play our shots on each hole. We Teed off at 11.30am as a group of ladies let us play before the (should have been 12.06pm) and we were only on the 14th hole at 4.00pm so had to finish then as we would have missed our lunch booking.
Rooms: Floor boards are very creaky and noisey.
Spa: My wife and her friend did use the pool etc and I do appreciate it was a Sunday and last day of Half term, but it was bedlam in there and not a relaxing experience. There were only four plastic sunbeds to use around the pool so no where to sit down and relax and chill. In addition to this my wife feels that it cannot be referred to as a Spa experience due to it only being a small room off the stairs with no beds or drinks etc on offer. There are posters everywhere promoting the spa but it really needs to have a big investment to make this a hotel that couples could go to and play golf and use the facilities.
Positives -
Golf: The course was stunning, and in fantastic condition.
Food and drinks - Our Sunday lunch was great. We were pretty much the last people in on the Sunday and although there was no beef left (no complaints due to the time we booked) the Chicken and Gammon were great and the portions were excellent. I was a little concerned that the drinks prices would be extortionate, but they were not too bad. The young lady who also served us our lunch was very polite and attentive.
Rooms - Good size and Clean.
Breakfast - Well cooked and plenty of it again.
Treatments - The treatments that my wife and her friend had were excellent and they very much felt that the surroundings did not do justice to the effort that those doing it.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, but the lack of Spa facilities really did let it down.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room overlooking the Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lovesatrip02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We enjoyed a lovely 3 nights at St Mellion. From our arrival to leaving the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the bigger rooms, the Ballesteros Suite, which was very clean and spacious, with a huge bathroom and accompanying bath. The weather was very mild for the end of October and so each afternoon we were able to sit and relax on the balcony in the sunshine, overlooking the last hole of the golf course that is part of the hotel complex (in fact I think there are 2 golf courses there). Breakfast and dinner each day was downstairs in the "18" restaurant. Both were very good, could not fault the service as the waitresses were very friendly and attentive, and the food came quickly (the kids were able to order from a kids menu for dinner, breakfast had the usual mix of hot and cold items). We only used the pool on our last day but we were pleasantly surprised at how warm the pool was. If I had to find one negative, it would be that they could have had more sunbeds around the pool for people to sit down and relax, although when we used the pool it wasn't very busy. Location wise, the hotel was a good base for us as we spend a day on Dartmoor (walking to Wistman's Wood from Two Bridges) and another day we also went to Morwellham Quay (a nearby old copper mine where we were able to make our own bread roll, chocolate and go on an old mine train into the mine). All in all we had a great time staying at St Mellion and there's so much to visit in this area so I'm sure we'll be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Best views on south side, Ballesteros suite large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at St Mellion International Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Paul H

Good afternoon, thank you for sharing your thoughts on what was obviously an enjoyable stay for your family at St Mellion Resort. It is great to see that you enjoyed our facilities and had a fab family break with us.

As you rightly say the Resort is also ideally located to visit many of the attractions in the area and I hope you enjoyed the bread roll that you made at Morwellham Quay.

I will ensure that your feedback is also passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to St Mellion in the near future.

Kind regards

Graham
Resort Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
7.2 km away
China Fleet Country Club
6.4 km away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#3 of 4 in Saltash
352 reviews
5.5 km away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
36 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
28.7 km away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range: $108 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Cornwall, England - Saltash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing