We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
468
364
213
106
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
364
213
106
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course st mellion superior room golf resort elemis toiletries nicklaus bar golf break balcony overlooking pro shop great golf car park leisure facilities in excellent condition great weekend wedding reception short break great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We booked this as a group of Four as we had been in Plymouth the previous night out so we wanted to play Golf while our Wifes relaxed in the "Spa".
The deal we had was very good - it was £129.00 per room, which included a three course Sunday Lunch and Drink, with a superior room and use of the facilities.
The Negatives -
Golf: We played the Kernow course and there were just too many people playing. We played as a two ball but a Society had gone off earlier and we had to wait to start every hole, and sometimes wait to play our shots on each hole. We Teed off at 11.30am as a group of ladies let us play before the (should have been 12.06pm) and we were only on the 14th hole at 4.00pm so had to finish then as we would have missed our lunch booking.
Rooms: Floor boards are very creaky and noisey.
Spa: My wife and her friend did use the pool etc and I do appreciate it was a Sunday and last day of Half term, but it was bedlam in there and not a relaxing experience. There were only four plastic sunbeds to use around the pool so no where to sit down and relax and chill. In addition to this my wife feels that it cannot be referred to as a Spa experience due to it only being a small room off the stairs with no beds or drinks etc on offer. There are posters everywhere promoting the spa but it really needs to have a big investment to make this a hotel that couples could go to and play golf and use the facilities.
Positives -
Golf: The course was stunning, and in fantastic condition.
Food and drinks - Our Sunday lunch was great. We were pretty much the last people in on the Sunday and although there was no beef left (no complaints due to the time we booked) the Chicken and Gammon were great and the portions were excellent. I was a little concerned that the drinks prices would be extortionate, but they were not too bad. The young lady who also served us our lunch was very polite and attentive.
Rooms - Good size and Clean.
Breakfast - Well cooked and plenty of it again.
Treatments - The treatments that my wife and her friend had were excellent and they very much felt that the surroundings did not do justice to the effort that those doing it.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, but the lack of Spa facilities really did let it down.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room overlooking the Golf Course
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lovesatrip02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We enjoyed a lovely 3 nights at St Mellion. From our arrival to leaving the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the bigger rooms, the Ballesteros Suite, which was very clean and spacious, with a huge bathroom and accompanying bath. The weather was very mild for the end of October and so each afternoon we were able to sit and relax on the balcony in the sunshine, overlooking the last hole of the golf course that is part of the hotel complex (in fact I think there are 2 golf courses there). Breakfast and dinner each day was downstairs in the "18" restaurant. Both were very good, could not fault the service as the waitresses were very friendly and attentive, and the food came quickly (the kids were able to order from a kids menu for dinner, breakfast had the usual mix of hot and cold items). We only used the pool on our last day but we were pleasantly surprised at how warm the pool was. If I had to find one negative, it would be that they could have had more sunbeds around the pool for people to sit down and relax, although when we used the pool it wasn't very busy. Location wise, the hotel was a good base for us as we spend a day on Dartmoor (walking to Wistman's Wood from Two Bridges) and another day we also went to Morwellham Quay (a nearby old copper mine where we were able to make our own bread roll, chocolate and go on an old mine train into the mine). All in all we had a great time staying at St Mellion and there's so much to visit in this area so I'm sure we'll be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Best views on south side, Ballesteros suite large and spacious
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at St Mellion International Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Paul H

Good afternoon, thank you for sharing your thoughts on what was obviously an enjoyable stay for your family at St Mellion Resort. It is great to see that you enjoyed our facilities and had a fab family break with us.

As you rightly say the Resort is also ideally located to visit many of the attractions in the area and I hope you enjoyed the bread roll that you made at Morwellham Quay.

I will ensure that your feedback is also passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to St Mellion in the near future.

Kind regards

Graham
Resort Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I stayed here for a conference and had a double room to myself. It was lovely. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of room around it. There was a bit of noise from people walking up and down the corridor outside but not too bad. The bathroom was okay and the shower reasonable although not very powerful. It took me a while to find the hairdryer hidden away in a drawer but there was one, so that was okay. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank devongirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at St Mellion International Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear devongirlie67

Thank you for your kind words & positive feedback regarding your recent stay at St Mellion International Resort.

I shall share your comments with my colleagues, and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Graham Hole
Resort Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

nicely located hotel with a good price for its standard. Close to beautiful Plymouth and other nice areas. Did not try the golf-course though. High standard, good service. Several options of things to do! Definitely recommendable both for leisure and, like me, just a quick visit for business-reasons

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at St Mellion International Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Anders U

Good afternoon, thank you for sharing your thoughts on what was obviously an enjoyable stay with us at St Mellion. It is great to see that you enjoyed our facilities during your recent business visit, but as you say the Resort is equally suited to the leisure traveller as well. along with all the other great things to do in the area.

I will ensure that your feedback is also passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to St Mellion in the future when you have a little more time for a leisurely stay with us.

Kind regards

Graham
Resort Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

First the positive, this is in a nice location with lovely views from the superior rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. It just misses out on the restaurant No 18, they have problems cooking meat so medium comes out well done. They over season the steaks, the tables aren’t cleaned properly before being reused. The restaurant manager seemed overworked and did adjust the bill when we complained. The rooms have very small wall mounted TV’s and aren’t cleaned properly, it just doesn’t quite make it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mikesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at St Mellion International Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Mikesol

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the fact that the stay did not fully meet your expectations.

Your feedback regarding your room and the restaurant has been passed on to the relevant Heads of Department in order that they can make effective changes to ensure that these issues do not arise again in the future.

Kind regards

Graham Hole
Resort Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews