We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cow Shed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cow Shed
Kitchen and Living Outdoor space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Cow Shed
Kitchen and Living
Outdoor space
Dining area
Living area with cosy log burner
Bedroom
Blue Door
Wartime with underfloor heating
cups in a drawer
our funky burner
wetroom
view from window
cow shed bathroom accessories
the cow shed handmade mosaic sign
sunset view from the top of the hill
milk churn ornament
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
danjones2...
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect little cottage!”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely weekend here and could ask for a nicer place to stay. The cottage was perfect, really nicely furnished and good facilities and the hamper on arrival was a very nice touch. We hope to return soon!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review guys and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Spent a lovely peaceful weekend in The Cowshed. We were welcomed with a hamper of local produce on arrival, which was delicious
It is a perfect retreat, beautifully decorated, well equipped and very cosy. It is easy to get to nearby attractions, pubs etc.
The Shepherds Hut which is Iocated in secluded corner of the farm also looks well worth a visit if you are looking for a glamping experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thanks both,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing stay, would definately recommend”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

great stay, was very relaxed, choose this stay for a weekend as I was recommended and I would definitely pass on the recommendation. the shepherd's hut is in a great location a lot of outdoor space for walks and is great for a quite weekend away. its so cosy inside the kitchen/lounge is amazing. just amazing. I'm use to my exotic weekends away but when I discovered this place I definitely do prefer a simple quiet weekend away. 10 out of 10.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you both so much for your lovely review. Kind regards Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

If you want to spend some time getting away from it all in the area of Matlock then look no further, you have now found your perfect romantic hideaway. The cow shed is beautiful, very quirky and cleverly converted and done out to the highest standard. Everything about this place is just great, from the decor to the lovely welcome basket that greets you upon arrival. Everything has been thought about here to make your time at The cow shed home from home. The kitchen is lovely, compact and open plan with every utensil needed if cooking, otherwise so many good eating places in both Tansley, Matlock Bath and Matlock too. A cosy lounge area around a roaring log fire is just what you need after a day out and about. The bedroom although small, is just the place to relax in a comfy kingsize bed, peace and quiet down a country lane, birds singing early morning and sun shining through the trees. Start the day in the modern bathroom with a great shower and the nicest smelling towels ever!
So do you still want to stay in a tranquil setting with all mod cons considered?? Book The Cow shed today, you won't be disappointed. Enjoy it and the Peak district delights are out there waiting for you. It's a complete gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Total peace and quiet yet so near to Matlock, log burner and everything, perfect!
Liked least: Leaving it behind to return home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent Christmas retreat”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have just got back from a beautifully peaceful 3 days atThe Cow Shed.

The owners of the cottage welcomed us warmly with a few basic essentials in the kitchen and the log fire, pre made and ready to be lit.

The cottage, although small, is extremely well equipped with everything a couple would need for a few days away. Lots of little touches like a hair dryer and tabs for the dishwasher made our stay that little bit easier. Although by far my favourite feature was the log fire! If you don't want to cook there are many local pubs that produce excellent food. Taxi rides were about £5 to get from the farm to the local villages - we tried the Tavern in Tansley and found that fantastic.

We loved this cottage, it's location and friendly hosts so much we've already decided that we're returning in 2016 for another few days of rest and relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log Burner
Liked least: Nothing - it was brilliant!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing