We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute excellence in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gate Cottage

Gate Cottage - the one with the porch over the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gate Cottage - the one with the porch over the door
Master Bedroom The Lounge with Smart TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Gate Cottage - the one with the porch over the door
Master Bedroom
The Lounge with Smart TV
Bathroom has both bath and a shower
Kitchen
Lower Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Kitchen
The Lounge has a Log Burner
The Front Garden
The Kitchen has a dish washer and a door onto the patio and log store
Kitchen detail - the old bread ovens
Lower Ground Floor Bedroom - has some road noise
The road outside isn't too noisy but we would rather say there is some noise
Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Little details
Shower in the Bathroom
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Allan B
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolute excellence in every way”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How absolutely refreshing to find that everything promised was delivered, and more.
This property was in excellent decorative order.
Furnished with taste to give a wonderful homely feel, including comfortable beds that you didn't want to get out of.
Cleanliness was 5 star (congratulations to the Carol's who clean and organise the linens)
Everything one could possibly want was provided including complimentary tea, coffee and a very generous touch in the welcoming bottle of wine.
In the kitchen there was just about every conceivable utensil, plus cupboards containing a varied selection of condiments, spices, oils etc.
The owner (Martin Philips) is the most helpful owner we have ever encountered, supplying a mass of information related to local cuisine as well as local attractions.
This is a 5 star find at a very reasonable cost and we intend to book again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel and excellent standard of cleanliness
Liked least: Doesn't apply, couldn't find anything to be negative about
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for this glowing review - The Carols and I are always pleased to hear that we are still getting it right for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearly14
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab family weekend”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved our stay in Gate Cottage, it was a real home from home. We arrived to a welcome bottle of wine, thank you and a lovely cozy, clean cottage. It is not often you arrive somewhere amend it looks exactly like the website pictures.
I had read the parking comments but it didn't bother us as we parked up on Friday and only got back in the car to come home.
Must admit the walk uphill keeps you fit but also gives you an excuse for an extra treat to help you out.
It was an ideal base to explore, we had the weather so walked into Matlock Bath along the river.
The cottage was everything we were expecting and more.
Thanks Martin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the quaint cozy cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments - really glad you had a good time. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cordelia0...
Lincolnshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Beautiful cottage - extremely clean. Comfortable beds with luxury bedding. Log fire if cold enough and a welcome bottle of wine which is a really kind touch. Perfect for walking and although Mondays are not good for restaurants/cafes etc, we found a great little cocktail bar with 2 for 1 between 5pm and 7pm. Bonus!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it felt so homely.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thanks for the tips and the wonderful feedback. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen R
Scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely midweek break.”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Gate Cottage. The cottage was compact,especially the living room but beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. There was everything you needed for a self catering stay and the kitchen cupboards were well equipped with oil, salt pepper, sauces, tea coffee, sugar etc.
Right across the road there is a news agents and a deli which came in handy. It is quite hilly around Matlock and the nearest pub we found was about a 10 minute walk but luckily it was quite flat , no hills to climb on the way back!
We would definately return to gate cottage if we wanted to visit Matlock again but we did struggle with the parking. As other reviews have mentioned it is extremely tight so we ended up chasing spaces on the road opposite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but the parking
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking to time to add a few words here to help future guests, this is really appreciated. Regards Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir_Mitul
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cosy and Very Comfortable ”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Really nice 3 night break in this small yet very charming little cottage. Nice small living room with log burner fire which was put to alot of good use! Perfect kitchen and a sub basement room. Upstairs bedroom is really big and comfy with a very nice bathroom. It's a lovely little cottage for a few days if you want to lock yourself away and chill. Could not fault the facilities so do not hesitate to book!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. Regards, martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing