We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, snug retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jewel Cottage

The Cottage front garden with chairs and bench for Summer Evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage front garden with chairs and bench for Summer Evenings
Another Bedroom view The Lounge - Smart TV and Log Burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Cottage front garden with chairs and bench for Summer Evenings
Another Bedroom view
The Lounge - Smart TV and Log Burner
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
The Lower Ground Floor Bedroom - can be a twin bedded room of superking double
The Bathroom with a shower cubical and bath
Another view in the Master bedroom with stained glass windows onto the stairwell
The utility and bike shed
The back yerd off the kitchen - great for breakfast on a summers day
The Front Garden and a glass of wine!
Another view of The Master Bedroom
The Front Door
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Culturewi...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming, snug retreat”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed two nights at Jewel Cottage, whilst my parents stayed three, and we were charmed by how lovely, private and comfortable the cottage was.
I stayed in the basement bedroom and my initial reaction was to send a photo to all my friends to gloat; a beautiful king sized bed in heavy down bedding to fight off the chill; beautiful, eclectic mix of vintage furnishings in not just my room but the living room as well; beautiful soft throw rugs and pillows giving a soft, comfortable feel to the stone building.
Modern refurbished kitchen and bathroom were a pleasure and that shower! Perfect.
A nice little garden frontage with a few chairs for a sneaky cuppa in the morning sunshine, as well as little courtyard out the back for privacy.
Good strong wifi in the house, also in the basement which is great.
Location-wise, the cottage is up a very steep hill from the main town, and it is walkable if you're fit and keen. There is car parking for 2 cars at a push but there were several times when we had to juggle the parking with on-street parking as the people next door blocked the second carpark. Very steep driveway with little visibility for backing onto the street so having somebody to spot you is advisable.
Great little beer shop across the road with very helpful staff - happy to have a chat and advise on good eating spots.
All in all, a simply wonderful stay and if it had been winter, and miserable outside instead of sunny, I would hole up here all weekend with a good book, a cup of tea and a wine in the evenings.
Strongly recommend for those looking for somewhere charming, luxuriously comfortable in non-ostentatious setting.
Can't comment on the service/dealings with the owners as my parents managed that side of things but they reported the ease of booking and communications.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beds!!! and the general charm of the place
Liked least: Parking was a bit tricky - not really enough room for two if one of the parkers is inconsiderate.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful and helpful comments - hope we can welcome you back again soon. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfieB1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a stay with family”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Fabulous cottage with two great bedrooms, bathroom and a kitchen with everything you need. Why stay in a hotel if you can have your own little house? Clean, comfy and quiet. Good location and local attractions are easy to be reached.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and cleanliness
Liked least: everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Many Thanks for the review.....Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandi1971
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect little retreat”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I booked this cottage for my husband and myself with our two teenage boys as we had a family wedding in the area and we were not disappointed. It was small and compact and had everything we could have wanted for our stay with lovely comfy beds and and very clean and tidy . Would defiantly recommend to any one

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thanks for the comment - really appreciated.

martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackrack
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic.”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Beautiful comfy cottage. From the basics in the kitchen to the lovely bottle of wine which we thought was a lovely touch. Cannot fault anything. Bed was so comfy, the bathroom / shower was great and sitting relaxing in the lounge with the log burner watching the snow outside was like something off a film. PERFECT !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds and log burner
Liked least: Cottage fantastic! The walk back up the hill in snow was something else
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
So glad you had a great break and that we even managed to put a dusting of snow out for you! Hopefully next time you can visit in the Summer and see the garden at its best. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornish_M...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Little Cottage.”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Jewel Cottage is a perfect destination to stay. Extremely well presented, very clean. What can I say.. the bed linen smelt so fresh is was a good as at home. The beds were very comfortable as was the sofa in the lounge. The little touches like tea bags, coffee & even milk in the fridge already for us on our arrival were greatly appreciated after a long drive from Cornwall!
The cottage has been refurbished to a high standard and it is evident throughout. The lovely cushions, curtains and carpets and furniture make Jewel Cottage extra special.
The only problem was the parking area which is quite tight and the lack of any lighting made it more difficult. The wall and the bumper of my car did not get along :-( Maybe a good idea would be some reflectors on the wall? Not to be put off though, I would most definately stay again in this little gem of a cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings & bedding are gorgeous.
Liked least: The driveway.. especially in the snow!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2015
Hi - thanks for the idea of some reflectors for the parking area, I will be going out to find some. Regards, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing