We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't want to leave”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hay Den

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mary W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Incredible views and a lovely, quiet location, this property was perfect for our short break. We had an excellent time exploring Matlock and the surrounding area, a great drive to Holme Moss, the Reservoirs and Chatsworth Estate. Sharon is a wonderfully warm and attentive host who made our stay as comfortable as possible. The studio is ideal for two people; beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattJ8620...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“*Absolutely Perfect*”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic place to stay with everything you'll ever need, peace and quiet, great views and close to all the great places to visit only couple of mins away from Matlock. We will definitely visit again. We highly recommend staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisha S
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene, Warm and Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hay Den is a new, meticulously and lovingly done cottage. Great scenic view, peaceful surrounds and a warm and friendly host welcome you to this small but cosy and pleasant place. It has a more professional touch than the other places I’ve stayed at. There was nothing that we needed and did not find in the cottage. It has a perfectly equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, dining space, reception chairs, TV, WiFi, patio area and is every bit a compact but modern studio. You’ll ideally need a car to make the best use of your stay and the WiFi works best in a corner of the dining inside the room, or outside. But these are very minor issues compared to the excellent facilities Sharon provides and the total relaxation and lovely experience the cottage offers. The icing on the cake? The cakes that Sharon bakes! You may find some in the welcome tray she puts together for you and do not say ‘no’ if she happens to bake some more while you are around. You’ll most likely want to take the recipes with you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanh...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Defiantly returning”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I wanted a quiet get away for myself and my best friend and that's excacly what we got at The Hay Den. Quiet, peaceful location within walking distance of a beautiful Derbyshire village with its 2 country pubs serving fab food along with a lovely tearooms. We love walking and we were defo in the right accommodation and area for this!! We'll be returning again if the owner will have us haha xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DazHaymes
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here and we most impressed. The studio itself was brilliant for 2 people and included everything we needed :) beautiful views, quiet location and fantastic host..what more could u want!? We found the village of Bonsall lovely and there was loads to do in the surrounding areas including heights of Abraham and carsington waters. We shall defiantly be returning and recommending to our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing