We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Bliss.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Coach House Cottage
Back Gardens on to open Fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The Old Coach House Cottage
Back Gardens on to open Fields
Lawned Gardens
Sun Garden
Kitchen Dinner
Garden play area
master bedroom
Winter Wonderland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Bliss.”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage has been one of the best I have visited. Whilst not as secluded as I imagined it to be, it has been bliss. Somewhere to get away from day to day. I also brought 2 of my dogs. I did ask to bring 4 and this was welcomed with no questions on breed, size or temperament. Due to circumstances, unrelated to the cottage, I only brought 2 with me.

The cottage, itself is lovely. Quaint and quiet. Every window has a different view, from the kitchen and bedroom windows I had the entertainment of lambs jumping about. From the back windows, fields and fields of rolling hills, most of which are empty, a couple had cows and their young.

Having Rosie pop up every couple of days to check how we were getting on and having a good natter, was lovely. So nice to feel welcome and have someone check in on you without being intrusive, at all!

My dogs have enjoyed the fact that there are walks from the cottage doorstep as well as 10-30 minute drives away. You feel like you're in the middle of no where but you're in the middle of it all, walks surrounding you, it's been difficult to choose which one to go on all week!

I'll definitely be booking this cottage again, in the not so distant future!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaycE3100...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal base for visiting Derbyshire's best tourist attractions”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Cottage is as quirky as you'd expect given its age and original purpose. Sleeps six if you use the sofabed, but with just the one bathroom and a small lounge I'd say it's ideal for a family of four. Pretty garden to the rear catches the afternoon sun though sadly it wasn't the weather for sitting outside. WiFi was invaluable for planning each day's outing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachausti...
North Walsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lovely, cosy cottage in a great location. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Rosie. The cottage was in a great location for visiting all the different places in derbyshire.
Our 10 year old son loved the outside area with the football goals and we had several games of french cricket there. The cottage had everything we needed for our weeks stay and I would recommend it to couples or families wanting a quiet/peaceful location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhossein...
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Location amazing, felt at home immediately. Beautiful part of the world, and would like to return one day.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would recommend a visit to Matlock Bath, beautiful walks and views. Buxton and Bakewell are also well worth a visit. If you like history Masson Mills in Cromford is a very interesting place to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve2120...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage, comfortable and well appointed with all you need for a peaceful break from the daily grind.
Perfect location to explore some of the best that the dales has to offer, Bakewell, Buxton, Matlock, Dovedale etc. One must do is the cable car ride up to the 'Heights of Abraham'

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing