We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Coach House Cottage
Back Gardens on to open Fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
The Old Coach House Cottage
Back Gardens on to open Fields
Lawned Gardens
Sun Garden
Kitchen Dinner
Garden play area
master bedroom
Winter Wonderland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dizzidebz
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we had a wonderful week staying here, The cottage was ideal and had everything needed plus more. It was cosy and comfortable and we enjoyed our selves.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L
Ollerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable farm cottage, with friendly owners.”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for 12 weeks (April - end of June) while we were house-hunting on our return from NZ, and were given a warm welcome and all the help we needed to get to know the area. The cottage is generally well appointed, warm and cosy, and we enjoyed being close to the farm where we saw calves being born and had many other encounters with wildlife. The High Peak Trail can be accessed from the cottage, as can many other footpaths. Access to the Peak District is excellent, with easy drives to Matlock, Bakewell and Buxton.

There is so much to do in the area that it wouldn't do it justice to try to list it all here. We enjoyed Sunday carvery lunches at the Miners Arms in Carsington, and used their car park as a base for walks around Carsington Water either before or after a drink and/or meal.

The cottage is a bit remote, which may be a good or bad thing for you, so if you want somewhere where you can walk to the village shop for a pint of milk and a paper then this might not be the place for you.

Essential to our stay was good wi-fi so that we could keep an eye on houses for sale, and this proved to be reliable and reasonably fast. Phone signals we patchy on EE, but generally ok on O2. Some fit and finish around the cottage was a little 'rustic'.

Nigel and Rosie were lovely - friendly, welcoming, responsive and helpful, as were the rest of the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly family owners
Liked least: Remote from nearest village shops and facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safiay
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, cosy cottage and perfect base for exploring.”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved this cottage - everything we needed, cute and cosy with beautiful views. Great spot for exploring and wonderful, warm home to come back to at the end of the day and sit in the private garden with a glass of wine and talk to the cows over the fence! We really appreciated the WiFi, extra TV, comfortable beds and board games for the kids. Thank you to Nigel and Rosie, it was a pleasure to meet you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, amazing views, garden
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quintaden...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely and warm!”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Spring came early this year - the previous weekend to us in fact - but had left by the time we got there, and our weekend break was chilly. The house was lovely and warm with coal and a stove for a snug Saturday night in.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing