We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A weeks rental off the beaten path...”
Welcome to The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden Rose clad barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden
Rose clad barn
Hot tub/hydrotherapy spa
Wild flower meadow walk to the Shepherd's Hut
Lounge
Woodburning Stove
Country living style
Breakfast in the country kitchen
Rustic Style
King size bedroom
King size Bedroom
Vanessa Arbuthnott scheme
Vanessa Arbuthnott Cushions
Bedroom En-suite
King size bedroom
Twin Bedroom
High Summer
Stunning views
The view from the bedrooms
The view from the patio area
Sheep in the field
Lazy days
Meet Carrot
The hut in the Meadow
Our lovely hut on the front cover of Period Living Magazine
Shepherds Hut
Shepherds Hut
Interior of hut
Double bed in hut
Jasper
Carrot the cat
Winter in Wheatcroft
Winter in Wheatcroft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
speedster...
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A weeks rental off the beaten path...”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amanda was very patient with our payment as we had severe unforeseen banking issues to sort out, which all got sorted in the end, but she is a saint! Thank You! The old Granary lived up to the hype and was a very quaint place for a family of four to stay. My family got to experience the chickens and use the hot tub and really enjoyed the full Harry Potter DVD's that were available. You will need a car as they are out of the way, but you know that going into it. I would only recommend a better Wi-Fi router as the service could be spotty at times.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and your kind words. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return in the future if you visit the UK again. On your point about the wifi, we have recently installed a wireless Air Fibre broadband system so guests can now enjoy faster speeds whilst enjoying our rural, peaceful location. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
70ruj
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a long weekend at The Old Granary. What a beautiful house, beautufully decorated with everything you need. Amanda and her husband were very attentive, even supplying us with onions as we had forgotten ours. A vert special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for The Old Granary. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and happy we were able to assist with your evening meal. Hope to see you all again in the future.
Kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Pretty much everything you could want in a holiday cottage. We really enjoyed our short break and were made to feel very welcome. There are such lovely views out over the valley as well.

Just a suggestion which doesn't in anyway detract from how wonderful this cottage is. The view is such a feature of the cottage but, in inclement weather when it is still warm enough to sit outside, there is no undercover seating to be able to take advantage of this. Also without anywhere undercover, even if it has stopped raining the wooden chairs remain quite wet to sit on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Old Granary. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We did consider making an undercover area outside the barn but soon realised that the structure would block the view from the lounge and kitchen windows which we feel would greatly detract from our amazing outlook. Hope to see you back at The Old Granary sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimCSusse...
Ardingly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful place with gorgeous views”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a wonderful time staying at the Old Granary. Having never been to the area Amanda was really helpful with information about the surrounding places to visit and she settled us in well. The hot tub was amazing, especially in the evenings overlooking the dales! A superb place to stay when you want to get away from it all and the local walks were fab, with stunning views!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of The Old Granary. So pleased you had an enjoyable stay and made good use of our facilities and exploring all that the Peak District has to offer. Hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coramcq
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another amazing visit”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Second visit here and definitely hope to return next year. Perfect place to enjoy a relaxing weekend with friends and the view from the hot tub is just amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Old Granary. The views from the patio/hot tub are wonderful. Hope to see you again next year.

Regards and thanks again
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing