We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winter Weekend Away”
Welcome to The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden Rose clad barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden
Rose clad barn
Hot tub/hydrotherapy spa
Wild flower meadow walk to the Shepherd's Hut
Lounge
Woodburning Stove
Country living style
Breakfast in the country kitchen
Rustic Style
King size bedroom
King size Bedroom
Vanessa Arbuthnott scheme
Vanessa Arbuthnott Cushions
Bedroom En-suite
King size bedroom
Twin Bedroom
High Summer
Stunning views
The view from the bedrooms
The view from the patio area
Sheep in the field
Lazy days
Meet Carrot
The hut in the Meadow
Our lovely hut on the front cover of Period Living Magazine
Shepherds Hut
Shepherds Hut
Interior of hut
Double bed in hut
Jasper
Carrot the cat
Winter in Wheatcroft
Winter in Wheatcroft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Expected”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful surroundings but the standards are not as high/as good as what I was expecting. I have been in touch with Quality in Tourism and the owner as I felt things could have been better. The owner admitted that there were things that needed doing/decorating and that they would be done when they hadn't got anyone staying. Games are provided for children -great but none could be played as they all had lots of parts missing. The owner said that she hadn't got time to sort through them. I am deaf so rely on subtitles. Unfortunately a previous guest had broken the remote and as the replacement one wasn't specifically for the TV concerned I couldn't get subtitles on. I appreciate this doesn't affect many people but it did mean that I had to go upstairs or sit in the kitchen if I wanted to watch something instead of sitting in the lounge with my family. I believe the assessors do not stay in a place when doing their assessment therefore they do not see everything in the same light.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View.
Liked least: The owner still let the property when she knew there was work/decorating that needed doing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We appreciate that you took time to share a review concerning your stay at our accommodation even though we are sorry to learn that your stay with us was not entirely adapted. I would go on to say, however, that everyone's expections are different and we do pride ourselves in our feedback from guests.

The points you mention have all since been addressed.

We wish a great continuation of your travels and thank you once again for choosing our cottage for your Derbyshire stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardwellA...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Winter Weekend Away”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here on a last minute break, what an amazing find. The accommodation was luxurious, the location beautiful and the hot tub was the icing on the cake. Owners were great, and the extras such as fresh eggs, milk, logs, chocs and bubbly made it really special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about The Old Granary. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LW54
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect winter retreat”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I booked a very last minute break for 4 nights at the Old Granary. It is a lovely cottage and more like home than a holiday cottage. Amanda has a wonderful eye for detail and the cottage could be out of a magazine, but nevertheless it was supremely comfortable. In fact, the cottage and their home have been in various publications.The cottage is well equipped and would easily accommodate 3 couples.

I very much needed a break after a stressful few months and The Old Granary enabled me to do this. I happily read in front of the log burner and my husband went for a couple of bike rides. We ventured out to cafes but were very happy to stay in and watch DVDs in the evening so cant comment on local eateries. Sitting in the hot tub watching the view and the stars was very therapeutic.

The cottage feels isolated but only 5 minutes from Matlock and the peak district. There is a lot to do in the area whatever the time of year. We live less than an hour away but we could have been 1000 miles away from home. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage at any time of year and cant wait to return to recharge my batteries again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub and comfortable lounge
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Christmas Holiday”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you want a Christmas away from it all then I can highly recommend The Old Granary. We have just spent one of our best Christmases ever there. It was everything we hoped it would be and more! From the gorgeous decor, to the views. Then there's the hot tub, followed by the log burner to cosy up to after you get out of the hot tub (in the snow). Then there's the board games around the table in the beautiful kitchen which was utterly idealistic. Not forgetting the welcome hamper which was the the cherry on the cake. Amanda and Martin have thought of everything when it comes to this holiday cottage its perfect in every way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
We love your review. We are delighted you had such a great stay and even more so that it was to celebrate the festive holiday. We hope we were able to make it not only special but memorable as well. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmcphysio
Coalisland
1 review
“perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful property in beautiful location. Owners were very helpful and while we were all within the same grounds, we very much had our own space. Property was fully equipped with everything that we needed and much more. It was also very clean. Clearly a lot of thought and work is put into keeping this property. Lots of family things to do within a short driving distance. General amenities also within a short driving distance. We all thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and would definitely be happy to return here in the future! The only slight negative was that WiFi was sometimes difficult to connect to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Old Granary and hope very much to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing