We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Derwent House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derwent House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

rach23el
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Derwent House”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Derwent House is the perfect location for a gathering of extended family and easily takes twelve people. The house has everything you possibly need with lots of added extras from board games to a very well equipped kitchen we were delighted with our stay. The area is quiet and peaceful with a playground over the road which was excellent for the younger members of our family.
The owners are both kind and polite and willing help with any query.
A very memorable trip, highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHYDE
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent home from home for our extended family holiday”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our extended family regularly holiday together.

Derwent House is the best equipped holiday home we have had to date, making our family dining as easy as being at home. The décor & personal touches with the beautiful fresh flowers helped us relax into our week away. The roses in the Dining Room were especially beautiful. The cool bags & freezer packs were great as we decided to have a picnic one day.

The location in Matlock was excellent. We enjoyed our ice cream from the Park on arrival & Dad enjoyed his walk to get the paper every morning.

Matlock is a perfect location for visiting the area, we didn’t realise just how close Chatsworth was.

We would definitely recommend this property to any large groups looking to enjoy the area. The care and attention to making you feel welcome was second to none.

Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail to make the holiday perfect
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jec01
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic House in a great location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have had a great weekend staying in Derwent House celebrating our Silver Wedding. It is a beatifully presented Georgian House in a lovely location straight across the road from a lovely park.
The house has all the facilites you want for a self catering holiday with a very well equipped kitchen that allowed us to have lovely family meals in the well appointed dining room.
All the rooms were decorated to a high standard and there were beautiful fresh flowers throughout.
I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for great facilites in a good location. All too often Matlock is overlooked and we spent a great weekend exploring the area.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the period features
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmlj
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Perfect house for our family celebration”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I searched high and low for the perfect house to celebrate my parents' diamond wedding anniversary in, and found it in Derwent House. From early enquiries with Damien, the owner, through to departing (sadly, didn't want to leave) on our last day, everything exceeded expectations.

The house itself is beautiful with so many extra personal touches that lift it from lovely to amazing, such as: fresh flowers in every public room, milk, juice and a huge box of maltesers in the fridge, liquid soap and hand cream at every sink, loads of tea towels, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, bin liners, tea and coffee...all the things that take up space when packing are already provided,

The rooms are beautifully appointed and furnished - so much space for everyone. Beds comfy, showers had plentiful piping hot water. We all loved it. The house was perfect for the celebration day itself when 29 members of the family gathered from all 4 corners of the country for a lunch at the house. Judith from Strand Fine Catering produced the most superb buffet lunch and Dawn from Dewberrys created a magnificent cake. Both come highly recommended.

I cannot recommend Derwent House highly enough - the location is idyllic to match the house itself. I very much hope we will return.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - it's perfect
Liked least: Nothing - it is the perfect house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan G
Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent large, well equiped house in Matlock”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We wanted a large, well equipped house in Matlock for a group of walking friends and discovered Derwent House. What a find. Not only is it well equipped, the attention to detail from the friendly owners was wonderful. These included a lovely decorated house, fresh flowers and of course the box of malteasers were quickly eaten. Its a good job we were doing a lot of walking. The house was very centrally located with easy access to all the lovely walks around Matlock. We found the local people very friendly and helpful and would recommend the local bus service for journeys out of the area.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A beautiful, well equipped house in a central location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.