We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
The Front Gate at Church St. Holloway, DE4 5AY. The driveway parks 2 cars.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The Old Mill signage in front of the property.
The Front Gate at Church St. Holloway, DE4 5AY.
The driveway parks 2 cars.
Old photo, at the back of The Old Mill
Fridge and freezer at the entrance with tea and coffee facility.
The landing through Tower Bedroom, Twin Bedroom, Bathroom, Lounge and going down to the Ground Floor
The Landing.
The Lounge with 4 settees.
1st bedroom - Tower bedroom; double bed,  sleeps 2.
1st - bathroom toilet at the 1st floor.
3rd bedroom - bunkbeds room;  2 single adult size, sleeps 2.
4th Bedroom - 2 double beds, 1 single, sleeps 5.
4th Bedroom - 2 double beds, 1 single, sleeps 5.
Family ensuite, shower, toilet and wash basin.
Shower toilet at the family bedroom
Dining Room with large table seats 10 and small table seats 4.
Dining Room.
Fully equipped Kitchen.
Fully equipped Kitchen.
Laundry room - washer dryer and fridge freezer
Patio with gas bbq, tables and chairs
Patio with gas bbq, tables and chairs
5th bedroom - at the Cottage; double bed,  sleeps 2.
At the Cottage sofa bed.
At the Cottage - Sofa bed; sleeps 2 children or 1 adult.
Dining, living room at the Cottage.
Kitchen at the Cottage
Shower toilet at the Cottage
Shower at the Cottage
Shower toilet at the Cottage
The Boats in Matlock Park
At Matlock Park Playground
The Train in Matlock Park
Relax in the park
At Matlock Park
With Removable Children's Safety-Gate.
With Removable Children's Safety-Gate.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shulbradf...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Homely!”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely welcome with chocolates & even a gorgeous birthday cake made by the owner's wife. Children were happy because there were plenty of toys, inside & out.
The beds were comfy & clean.
The spiral staircase down to the kitchen was tricky to negotiate, particularly carrying down our supplies for the weekend.
Overall a wonderful weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space & location
Liked least: The spiral staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Group”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As a group of friends this was a good cottage to stay. The variety of rooms well finished.
The living room was great to allow all to sit in comfort and talk.
The kitchen and dining room are well equipped allowing for cosy dining.
A garden can be used for sitting and having a BBQ (if the weather allows).

Totally recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RB53
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Old Mill & Cottage is a perfect place for a large group wishing to stay together, we were a family of 12, 8 adults, 2 children & 2 infants.
Terrence was a great host, he explained everything we needed to know and then left us to it, the house is so well appointed everything we needed to cater for our a large party, great BBQ and outside area were we had a great evening, and as we were celebrating a big birthday during the evening the owner appeared with a freshly baked hot chocolate birthday cake, a really nice touch :-).
The cottage was a bonus for us grandparents!
Just a couple of points only 1 shower in the main house, really could do with another in the upstairs bathroom, and the spiral staircase is not easy but you do get used to it.
All in all a perfect, clean and well appointed holiday house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Regarding showers, we have 2 new Power Shower fitted in the Mill and 1 in the cottage. And about spiral staircase, we are offering to the customers if they have any large or heavy items we can take them round to the ground floor for them.

Spiral staircase is a part of original feature in the Mill.

I know its very late, we are very pleased that you enjoy your stay and appreciate your custom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy friendy atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sara B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a family get together”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The property was well equipped and accomodated our large group comfortably. The kitchen had a good supply of Denby crockery and cooking utensils and there was even a few tea bags and some coffee in case we had forgotten our own. The oven was a little slow but worked well enough.

The tower bedroom was great but not suitable for tall people as the ceilings on the stairs are very low. My husband banged his head several times and he's only 5ft 8"!

The bedrooms were comfortable as were the beds.

The spiral staircase was fun and we were just getting the hang of carrying our stuff up and down when it was time for us to leave.

We only have two tiny niggles that were an inconvenience and did not distract from the overall experience.

The first was the poor WiFi reception and the second was having the shower off one of the bedrooms so there was a bit of a queue in the mornings.

Our landlord was hospitable and helpful when we had a concern.

We will certainly consider going back again but probably can't do so this year because it is booked up well in advance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing