We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic B&B!!”
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellen House
Ranked #8 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A fantastic B&B!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for four fabulous nights at Ellen House. We travelled by train from London arriving much earlier than the 2pm check-in time and were met by the owner John and 'Duke'. We were shown to our spotlessly clean and comfortable room and were very grateful to be allowed to check-in early. The location is fantastic only a minutes walk to Matlock Train Station and the town itself which has a great selection of restaurants and bars. We would highly recommend Thailand No1, Maazi and the Cafe in the park which serves a great cream tea!
Ellen House is perfectly situated for several walking routes and as we were without a car we took advantage of these, including High Tor which is not for the feint hearted!!
The breakfasts are without doubt the BEST we have EVER eaten either in a B&B or hotel in this country! They are plentiful with quality ingredients and presented beautifully and kept us both going all day long!!
John was a perfect host (Anne we hope you recover very soon from your recent op) we would not hesitate to recommend Ellen House and hope to return very soon!
The homemade jams of which we bought a couple of jars were/are delicious!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWDilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Manager at Ellen House, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your 4 days here with us in Derbyshire. Excellent to know that John's breakfasts were once again a winner! We continue to add to the lovely home made jams made by my sister- our newest addition is a yummy lemon and mango marmalade. I am now home after my stint in the hospital and recovering well. Duke is very glad to have me home, more time for John to take him for walks now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
130
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent all round. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, the rooms well presented, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts, especially the vegetarian option, the best we've ever had at a B&B. Well placed for both walking and easy access to local restaurants (we recommend "Thailand No.1", especially their vegetarian options). Nice touches of home made biscuits, and real filter coffee in the bedroom. Books and maps are available to borrow. The B&B is relatively small, and parking limited (they have one permit for the residents car park, but otherwise it's on street). We had no problems parking while we were there. Very handy for the railway station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeseminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have just got back from a weekend spent at Ellen House and it couldn't have been a nicer experience. John and Anne made an extra effort to ensure that the room was suitable for me despite having sensitive skin. The home cooked biscuits and the homely atmosphere helped us to settle in right away. They were more than helpful ensuring that we made the most of our time in Matlock and the surrounding areas. The room was fantastic and so was the breakfast, they let us make full use of the garden, even offering us use of their BBQ so we could fully appreciate the wonderful weather and garden. We couldn't recommend it more highly, and can't wait to make our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_and_Adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A lovely relaxing B&B off the beaten track but on the doorstep of Matlock town centre. We couldn't have asked for better hosts. Ann and John made us incredibly welcome. Our room was warm, comfortable and overlooking the terraced garden. Our vegetarian breakfasts (of which there were many choices) was breakfast to die for. The dining room was light and fresh and the tables set beautifully. Breakfast consisted of a platter of fruit, a selection of cereals, fresh orange juice, toast with home made preserves, fresh coffee and a choice of teas followed by the best cooked vegetarian breakfast ever (not a meat subsitute in sight). We enjoyed a delicious plateful of Derbyshire oatcakes filled with home-made tomato & vegetable sauce topped with melted cheese, grilled cherry tomatoes on the vine, scrambled eggs, beans and mushrooms stuffed with stilton and breadcrumbs. The second morning John cooked a delicious souffle omelette with feta cheese, cherry tomatoes and fresh basil. I strongly recommend a visit to Ellen House (even if it's just to sample the veggie breakfast).

Room Tip: Try the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

A group of us stayed here on new years eve as we were bridesmaids for our friends wedding at Stancliffe Hall down the road. The B&B is lovely, the couple who run it are very friendly and welcoming, rooms are lovely, shower powerful and hot, and homemade biscuits/flapjack with the tea and coffee were so delicious that we took the rest home!!!

When we came down for breakfast the table looked fab - fresh fruit set up as a platter, fresh tea and coffee, natural yoghurt, cereal, orange juice, followed by toast and homemade jam and marmalade. The Strawberry and Port jam has been entered into the Women's Institute and came 2nd! It was very tasty! Cooked breakfast was delicious as well!

I would highly recommend this B&B and would visit again. It is a real gem!

Room Tip: Room 4 - Superking size bed! Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
2.5 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
1.9 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
1.0 km away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
301 reviews
0.4 km away
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 km away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Property: Ellen House
Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price range (per night): $135 - $149
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellen House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellen House Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing