We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend catch up”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoying life in a characterful cottage in the village of Sheldon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoying life in a characterful cottage in the village of Sheldon
Shape of the stone fireplace is 16th century!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Enjoying life in a characterful cottage in the village of Sheldon
Shape of the stone fireplace is 16th century!
Views onto garden from sitting room
Christmas at The Old End
Old window discovered during renovations, and the only piece of glass that remains of the original
Afternoon tea with a slice of delicious, locally made, Bakewell Brownie!
handy downstairs toilet
Light & airy kitchen
part of wall left exposed to view in main bedroom, note round wooden peg fixings in beams
Bathroom with over-bath shower
twin room
twin room
twin room
twin room
Window frame possibly predates 1617 !
Garden and patio area
Views to village
Footpath to Magpie Mine
Found in garden-probably an item of peasant jewellery of the post medieval period' British Museum
Magpie Mine
Heading home for a warm drink after a leisurely walk across the fields to Magpie Mine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
walkandta...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend catch up”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A warm and comfortable character cottage in a stunning setting. Well equipped kitchen, comfy beds and plenty of space. Perfect for a weekend of catching up with an old friend. Will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
So pleased that you had a super time. We will look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our home and that you explored and appreciated our quiet village and the surrounding area - it sounds like you love it all as much as we do :) We look forward to seeing you again soon. R x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Valerie l
1 review
“Winter break Peak District”
Reviewed 15 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Weather not good, very icey and snowy!
Cottage comfortable and warm. Very clean and tidy. Everything provided, phone signal poor, no internet, made communication difficult.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review, so pleased that you were warm and comfortable despite the weather! I'm sorry to hear that you have had problems during your stay with the Internet - wish we had known as we could have done some checks and tried to sort it whilst you were still there. Hopefully the weather will be more favourable should you return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotsbear
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely little cottage in the quaint village of Sheldon. This is a very friendly village with a pub 2 mins walk away form the house. The cottage was very clean and had everything you could possibly need. The underfloor heating downstairs meant it was always toasty warm. Pet friendly, non smoking and well looked after with all the necessary modern touches. Don't miss a visit to Bakewell and Chatsworth House! The cottage is ideally locate for walking and sight seeing. Would definitely go again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was super to meet you and your pets and will look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLE9370
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightfully, comfortable cottage!”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our 4 night break at Old End Cottage was thoroughly enjoyable.
The cottage is extremely comfortable and has everything you need for a relaxing break.
We enjoyed the sights and attractions of Derbyshire, such as Bakewell, The Heights of Abraham and Buxton Country Park, and really looked forward to returning to the Old End to rest our weary legs. The cottage is in a perfect location for carrying out a wide range of excursions.
Rosemary was very accommodating and took great care to ensure our stay was just what we needed! Many thanks.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and some of the many attractions in our area. Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to leave one. It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again soon. Rx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing